| Library |
This guide has been created to help you find Asian Studies and Development Studies related resources that are either held in Murdoch University Library or are available electronically on the web. It is not an exhaustive guide, but rather a sample of the many kinds of information sources you can use for your research topics.
Use this guide to help you to:
- find books on your topic
- find journal articles both in print and electronic format
- cite your sources correctly using a specified citation style
- manage your sources using a software package such as EndNote
- take advantage of information skills training programs available through the Library
If you require further assistance to find subject-related resources enquire at the Reference Desk located on Link Level 3 in the library. For general queries ask at the Enquiry Desk near the entry to the library on North Wing Level 3. If you are unable to access the library, try the following options:
The Libraries Australia database is a very useful resource containing records from major databases world wide. Where an item is held in Australia details of each library's holdings are indicated in the record.
My Library is a service which allows you to stay informed about new materials added to the Library collection by setting up email alerts. Connect to My Library from the Library homepage or from the catalogue, using your Murdoch Username and Library PIN. Once logged into My Library, you can search the catalogue, save your searches, set up email alerts, renew your loans, recall items on loan and change your Library PIN.
Theses
To find theses completed at Murdoch University select the
T>TITLE option in the Web Catalogue and
then type the words murdoch university theses.
Select from the result by scrolling through the display to find Honours, Masters or PhD level theses
in your chosen subject area.
You may wish to look at further information about
Murdoch University theses.
Other universities also record theses in their respective library catalogues.
In recent years the Australian Digital Theses Program has been developed to deliver Australian theses (PhD's or equivalent and Masters by research only) in digital full-text format. There were about 3096 digital theses online in this database as at January 2005. Murdoch University now contributes to the Australian Digital Theses Program
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Free access to the most current two years of citations and abstracts in the Dissertation Abstracts
database.
The following printed index may also be of assistance:
Index to theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain
and Ireland, 1986-1999 London, ASLIB. (Murdoch University Library no longer has a current
subscription to this title)
Encyclopedia of Asian history 1988
Electronic Reference - This list of ready reference sites is
maintained by Murdoch University Library staff.
Human development reports - 1990-
OECD statistics
The sociology of the environment 3 vols. 1995
The library has journals available in print and electronic format. In some cases both the paper and electronic versions of titles are held. To find out what journals the library holds, where they are located, and in what format they are available, use the library's Web Catalogue.
One journal the library subscribes to is Development and change. A Title search for this item will display a result screen that provides a summary of the library's holdings. The details described indicate that the library holds this journal in print format from Vol. 14 (1983)-v.34 (2003). The call number for the item is given, as well as the location within the library. From the information provided we are able to determine if the library is still receiving print copies of the journal. The result screen also advises that this particular journal is also available electronically. For this entry the catalogue provides links to the electronic version of the journal, access via Swets Wise or Blackwell Synergy. By clicking on either of these links you will be able to access the fulltext of this particular journal.
Remember: The library catalogue records the titles of journals held in the library but does not index all the articles in each of the journals. To find individual articles on a particular topic use the Database Page. Instructions on when and how to use these will be covered in more detail below.
Databases are a collection of data which can be searched for a particular piece of information. The Library's databases include indexes to journal articles and full text collections of materials such as journals, newspapers, statistical publications, encyclopaedias and legal materials.
All databases can be accessed through the Library Database Page. This page provides a number of paths for accessing databases :
NB Please check Off Campus Access for information about how to access the Library's electronic resources remotely. Some databases require a password for access, which you can get from the Reference Desk on Link Level 3 (9360 6838).
Expanded Academic Index
A multi-disciplinary database. Information on Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences.
Factiva.com
Provides fulltext access to significant news items from over 6000 international sources, including more than 100 Australasian sources. Coverage includes articles from newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals. Also provides information on companies and industries.
ProQuest
Abstracting, full-text and image database which includes telecommunications, accounting & tax, applied science & technology, Asian business, computing, education and religions.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains about 420,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc., published from 1971 until the present day. It includes citations to all articles since 1991 from the 100 most-used journals in Asian studies.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes the worldwide historical literature in a variety of disciplines: multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies/gender studies, religion, anthropology and political science. Approximately 1800 journals are indexed in over 50 languages. Includes citations to books and dissertations.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines. It provides abstracts from approximately 2500 journals, book chapters, conference papers, relevant dissertation citations from book reviews. Sociological Abstracts covers publications in sociology, anthropology, community development, economics, medicine, philosophy, demography, political science and social psychology.
A complete listing of databases relevant to Asian Studies and Development Studies can be found on the Journal Databases page under the Browse by Subject Area listing.
Asian studies indexed journal reference guide
China during the cultural revolution, 1966-1976 : a selected bibliography of English language works
International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology
The Future of Southeast Asia and the Asia-Pacific : a special select bibliography in celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies Singapore
Social Sciences Citation Index(SSCI) 1975-April 2000 (1992 onwards available online from the ISI Web of
Science database)
Periodical Titles Abbreviations
There are also a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations. These include the following:
All that JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Flinders University Development Studies
Politics & International Studies
Sustainability & Technology Policy
The Government Information list provides links to some of the world's government agencies. Many government publications are now published on the internet and are freely available to the public. Look for the Publications link on these websites to see a list of the available fulltext resources.
The Library's publication, How to cite references, which discusses various citation systems, is available for consultation online.
One specialised guide that may be of relevance for some is the Murdoch University Library Legal Citation Guide.
Please remember that there are specific citation rules for electronic resources. The guides give examples of these materials.
The library holds introductory training sessions aimed at users new to the Endnote software. The Library's Information Skills Training page provides details of classes that are available.
|
© 2007 Murdoch University
| CRICOS Code: 00125J
| http://wwwlib.murdoch.edu.au/guides/arts/AS_DS.html
|