| Library |
This guide has been created to provide assistance in finding Education resources that are either held in the library or available electronically on the web. It is not an exhaustive guide, but rather a sample of the many kinds of information sources you can use for your research topics.
Use this guide to help you to:
You may also wish to consider the approach you will take to completing your library research. A guide to Beginning Your Research is available from the Help menu on the Library Home Page.
- find books on your topic
- find journal articles both in print and electronic format
- learn how to search the Internet effectively
- cite your sources correctly using a specified citation style
- manage your sources using a software package such as EndNote
- take advantage of information skills training programs available through the Library
If you require further assistance to find subject-related resources enquire at the Reference Desk at the South Street Campus Library or the Help Desk at the Rockingham Campus Library. If you are unable to access the library contact the Education Liaison Librarian by email.
The Library Home Page offers a gateway to locating information sources that may prove valuable for your research topics. It gives access to the Library's Catalogue and to electronic resources such as Databases and past Exam Papers. It also provides access to useful Electronic Reference information. There are also Subject Guides to finding information, links to Citation Guides, as well as extensive details on the Services provided by the Library.
[ Top ]
The Libraries Australia database is a very useful resource containing records from major databases world wide. Where an item is held in Australia details of each library's holdings are indicated in the record.
My Library is a service which allows you to stay informed about new materials added to the Library collection by setting up email alerts. Connect to My Library from the Library homepage or from the catalogue, using your Murdoch Username and Library PIN. Once you are logged in, you can search the catalogue, save your searches for later use, and set up email alerts to receive automatic notification when new material matching your search arrives in the Library. You can also renew your loans, recall items on loan and change your Library PIN, all without having to login again.
When searching for resources on a particular topic you can choose to search either by Subject or by Keywords. When starting out with a new topic it is probably best to begin with a Keywords search as this is the more comprehensive option. Keywords will search for the term(s) you have entered in a number of fields, including title and subject heading. Subject headings are fixed and you need to know the correct one(s) for your topic. If you try a subject search and it doesn't find anything, repeat it as a keyword search. Then look at the records you find and you will be able to see the subject headings assigned to them. You can use these for further searching if necessary.
Some useful subject headings for Education are:
Some shelf location numbers for Education are:
Other universities also record theses in their respective library catalogues.
In recent years the Australasian Digital Theses Program has been developed to deliver Australian theses (PhD's or equivalent and Masters by research only) in digital full-text format. There were about 9782 digital theses online in this database as at August 2006. Murdoch University intends to contribute to the Australasian Digital Theses Program in the future.
Dissertations and Theses Abstracts (ProQuest)
Index to theses and dissertations from a wide range of countries and disciplines.
Australian Education Index
Index to Australian education dissertations.
Bibliography of Education Theses in Australia (Library has 1978 to 2001)
South Wing Level 2 J 378.94016 B582 1
Union List of Higher Degree Theses in Australian University Libraries. Supplement 1959-1989
Link Level 3 R 013.370994 U58 3
Index to theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the
universities of Great Britain and Ireland, 1986-1999 London, ASLIB. (Murdoch University Library no longer has a current subscription to this title)
[ Top ]
The Library's web page listing Electronic Reference resources could also be of value, especially the Electronic Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias relating to Education to the Social Sciences and Humanities and to Australian Indigenous Studies.
The reference resources listed below are divided into the following three categories:
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: a User's Guide to Sociological Language - Electronic
resource
Dictionary of British Education
Cyclopedic Education Dictionary
Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training
Australian Thesaurus of Education Descriptors
Dictionary of Developmental Psychology
Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford)/ edited by Gordon Marshall - Electronic resource
Dictionary of the Social Sciences (Oxford) - Electronic resource
The Max Weber Dictionary : Key Words and Central Concepts / Richard Swedberg with the assistance of
Ola Agevall
International Encyclopedia of Education
Encyclopedia of Education
2nd ed
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Encylopedia of Psychology
Encylopedia of Ethics
Encylopedia of Human Behavior
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Encyclopedia of Sociology. Selections
Electronic Reference - This list of ready reference sites is
maintained by Murdoch University Library staff.
A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
[ Top ]
The library has journals available in print and electronic format. In some cases both the paper and electronic versions of titles are held. To find out what journals the library holds, where they are located, and in what format they are available, use the Library's Catalogue.
One journal the library subscribes to is Harvard Educational Review. A Title search for this item will display a result screen that provides a summary of the library's holdings. The details given indicate that the library holds this journal in print format and in electronic format. If you select the record for the print format, it shows that the journal is held from Vol. 30 (1960) up to v. 68 (1998). The call number for the item is given, as well as the location within the library. From the information provided we are able to determine that the library is no longer receiving print copies of the journal.
The online entry for Harvard Educational Review does, however, tell us that it is available electronically via Proquest from 1988 to present.
Peabody Journal of Education
Practically Primary
Discourse
Educational Research
Australian Journal of Education
Independent Schooling in Australia
[ Top ]
Databases are a collection of data which can be searched for a particular
piece of information. The Library's databases include indexes to journal
articles and full text collections of materials such as journals, newspapers,
statistical publications, encyclopaedias and legal materials. Databases are accessible from the
Library Home Page. You can search the databases for
information on specific subjects, using key words or concepts relevant to your
research topic.
A guide to Using Databases is also available from the Help menu on the
Library Home Page.
The library catalogue records the titles of journals held in the library but does not index all the articles in each of the journals. To find individual articles on a particular topic use the Databases. From here you can choose a specific database from the Browse by Database Title alphabetic list at the top of the screen, Browse by Subject Area to find journals in a specific discipline, or use the Quick Links to Major Databases list for the more popular databases. These databases collectively index the article contents of thousands of journals. Some provide only a citation with an abstract (summary of the article), while others provide the whole article (full text) as well. To find out information on older research you may have to refer to the printed abstracting and indexing journals, which are available in the library.
All of the databases are accessible from the eLibraries on North Wing Level 3, South Wing Level 3 and the workstations around the Library. You are also able to get remote access by using your User ID and University Password for authentication. For further information on how to do this see the Off Campus Access web page. Some databases require a password for access, which you can get from the Reference Desk on Link Level 3 (9360 6838).
Once you have understood these concepts you can apply them when searching in a variety of databases. Most databases have HELP buttons linked to detailed descriptions of successful searching tips. Always check this option when you are searching a new database.
AEI - Australian Education
Index
Indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on all levels of education and related fields. Includes information published in Australia and Australian content published internationally.
APA-FT - APA-Full Text is based on the journal indexing of the database Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS)
APAIS - Australian Public Affairs Information Service 1978-
A wide ranging index of Australian sources
in the social sciences and humanities. There is good coverage on issues such as the environment
and on government policy.
AusStats
(Australian Bureau of Statistics), 1998-
AusStats provides full text access to all ABS publications from 1998 onwards, as well as time
series spreadsheets, multidimensional datasets and census basic community profiles. Coverage
includes social, economic, demographic, environmental, labour, finance, and other statistics.
(FULL TEXT)
Factiva - Provides fulltext access to significant news items from over 6000 international sources, including more than 100 Australasian sources. Coverage includes articles from newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals.
Australasian Education Directory
Australasian Education Directory (AED), produced by the Australian Council of Education Research (ACER), is a concise accurate guide to educational institutions and related organisations
DELTAA Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia
A clearinghouse for information related to English as a second language learning and teaching in Australia
Academic
One File
A multi-disciplinary database. Information on Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities,
Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences.
Factiva.com
Provides fulltext access to significant news items from over 6000 international
sources, including more than 100 Australasian sources. Coverage includes articles from newspapers, news
wires, press releases, company announcements and journals. Also provides information on companies and
industries.
JSTOR
An archive of back issues of about 350 full text journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Coverage is from the first volume in most cases. Current content, usually the latest 3-5 years, is not
available, but is added from time to time.
ProQuest
Abstracting, full-text and image database which includes telecommunications, accounting & tax, applied
science & technology, Asian business, computing, education and religion.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines.
It provides abstracts from approximately 2500 journals, book chapters, conference papers, relevant
dissertation citations from book reviews. Sociological Abstracts covers publications in sociology,
anthropology, community development, economics, medicine, philosophy, demography, political science and
social psychology.
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts over 1300 journals in more than 25 languages. Includes book chapters,books, technical reports and citations to dissertations.
Covers the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
[ Top ]
You can use the following source in the library to check abbreviated journal titles:
Periodical Titles Abbreviations
NW Level 3 Enquiry Desk
There are also a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations. These include the following:
All that JAS:
Journal Abbreviation Sources
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
[ Top ]
[ Top ]
Other internet sites of interest may include the following:
Sociology Internet Resources
Psychology Internet Resources
Australian Indigenous Studies Internet Resources
History Internet Resources
Politics & International Studies Internet Resources
The Government Information list provides links to some of the worlds government agencies. Many government publications are now published on the internet and are freely available to the public. Look for the Publications link on these internet sites to see a list of the available fulltext resources.
[ Top ]
The Library's publication, How To Cite References, which discusses various citation systems, is available for consultation online.
Please remember that there are specific citation rules for electronic resources. The guides give examples of these materials.
The library holds introductory training sessions aimed at users without experience in using the EndNote software. The Library's Information Skills Training page provides details of classes that are available.
[ Top ]
[ Top ]
|
© 2007 Murdoch University
| CRICOS Code: 00125J
| http://wwwlib.murdoch.edu.au/guides/arts/edu.html
|