Murdoch University
Library

 

 

Australian Indigenous Studies Resources


Introduction

This guide assists in finding resources that are either held in the library or available electronically on the internet. It is not an exhaustive guide, but a sample of the sources you can use for your research topics. Because of the multidisciplinary nature of Australian Indigenous Studies you will find that relevant resources are located throughout the library's collection. For this reason the location of material is indicated wherever possible.

Use this guide to help you to:

  • find books on your topic
  • find journal articles both in print and electronic format
  • learn how to search the Internet effectively
  • cite your sources correctly using a specified citation style
  • manage your sources using a software package such as EndNote
  • take advantage of information skills training programs available through the Library
A guide to Beginning Your Research is also available.

If you require further assistance finding subject-related resources enquire at the Reference Desk on Link Level 3 in the library.
For general queries ask at the Enquiry Desk on North Wing Level 3.
You can also contact the Australian Indigenous Studies Subject Librarian by email.


Library Home Page

The Library Home Page gives access to:

[ Top ]


Library Catalogues

Use the Library Catalogue to:
  • find books, journals and other resources relevant to your topic
  • check the availability and location of resources
For help using the catalogue go to the How to Search the Murdoch Library Catalogue page.
Access to the catalogues of Other Western Australian Libraries is also available from the Murdoch Library Catalogue.
The Libraries Australia database contains catalogue records from Australian library collections. Where an item is held in Australia, details of each library's holdings are indicated in the record.

My Library

My Library allows you to:

  • check the items you currently have on loan
  • renew your loans
  • recall items on loan to other patrons
  • search the catalogue
  • save your searches for later use
  • set up email alerts to receive automatic notification when new material matching your search arrives in the Library

Using Keyword and Subject Options

When searching for resources on a topic you can choose to search either by Keywords or by Subject.
  • When searching on a new topic it is probably best to begin with a Keywords search as this is the more comprehensive option
  • Keywords will search for the term(s) you have entered in a number of fields, including title and subject heading
  • Subject headings are fixed and you need to know the correct one(s) for your topic. If you try a subject search and it doesn't find anything, repeat it as a keyword search. Then look at the records you find and you will be able to see the subject headings assigned to them. You can use these for further searching if necessary

E-books

The library has access toelectronic books:
  • Where a book is available electronically there will be a link to it in the catalogue record
  • It is possible to limit your search so that you only find e-books. For example, try doing a keyword search for indigenous, limiting the Location to E> ELECTRONIC and Serial/Monograph to MONOGRAPH
  • For more information on the titles that are available, see the e-books page
[ Top ]

Finding Theses

During the course of your research in Australian Indigenous Studies you may be required to locate relevant theses.
  • To browse listings of theses completed at Murdoch University select the TITLE option in the Catalogue and then type the words murdoch university theses
  • Select from the result by scrolling through the display to find Honours, Masters or PhD level theses in your chosen subject area
  • You may wish to look at further information about Murdoch University theses
  • PhD and Masters by research theses submitted from 2003 onwards are mostly available through the Australasian Digital Theses program
  • Other universities also record theses in their library catalogues

[ Top ]


Reference Resources

For background information on aspects of Australian Indigenous Studies, there are many reference resources available. Use these resources to clarify the meaning of your topic and to check for synonyms to your keywords.

The following reference materials include print and electronic resources and are divided into the following categories:

Encylopaedias and Subject Dictionaries
Directories of Archives & Manuscripts
Chronologies
Bibliographies
Atlases
Statistics
Biographies

[ Top ]


Encylopaedias and Subject Dictionaries

General

AusAnthrop - Australian Aboriginal tribes, nations, languages and dialectal groups Electronic Resource
Australian Encyclopaedia 6th edition. Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.003 AUS
The Australian People: An encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins 2001 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994 AUS 2001
Rockingham Campus R 994 AUS 2001
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Australia 1994 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.003 CAM
Rockingham Campus R 994.003 CAM
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers 1999 Rockingham Campus R 306.36403 CAM 1999
Dictionary of World Mythology 1997 Electronic Resource
Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia 1994 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.0049915 AUS
Rockingham Campus R Q 994.004 ENC
Electronic Resource
For Seven generations - Reports relating to the Aboriginal peoples of Canada Electronic Resource
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An encyclopedia 2003 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 304.203 JOH 2003
Macmillan Dictionary of Australian Politics 1992 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 320.9940231 JAE 1992
Rockingham Campus R 320.9940231 JAE 1992
Macquarie Encyclopedia of Australian Events Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994 MAC 1997
Rockingham Campus R 994 MAC 1997
Oxford Companion to Australian History 2001 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.003 OXF 2001
Rockingham Campus R 994.003 OXF 2001
Electronic Resource

Language

Alyawarr to English Dictionary 1992 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 499.15 GRE
Austral English 1968 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 427.994 MOR 1968
Eastern and Central Arrernte to English Dictionary 1994 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 499.15 EAS
Gidabal Grammar and Dictionary 1971 Murdoch Campus South Wing Level 4 499.15 G397 1
Illustrated Dictionary of the South-west Aboriginal Language 1996 Rockingham Level 2 499.15 DOU 1996
Macquarie Aboriginal Words 1994 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 499.15 MAC
Rockingham Campus R 499.15 MAC
Noongar Dictionary: Noongar to English and English to Noongar 1997 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 499.1503 WHI 1997
Rockingham Campus R 499.1503 WHI 1997
Pintupi/Luritja Dictionary 1992 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 499.150321 HAN
Pitjantjatjara/Yankunytjatjara to English Dictionary 1992 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 499.1503 PIT
Wangkatha Dictionary 2002 Rockingham Campus R 499.15 WAN 2002

[ Reference Resources ]


Directories of Archives & Manuscripts

Australian Historic Records Register (10 Microfiche)

Link Level 2 MF 994.016 AUS
Electronic Resource

Collections in Perth: a Guide to Commonwealth Government Records (Midalia) (2000)
Link Level 3 R 351.9402387 MID 2000

Many directories of archival materials are now available on the Internet where they are likely to be much more up to date. See the following internet sites:

For directories of archives in other countries see additional entries below under Archives

[ Reference Resources ]


Chronologies

Chronicle of Australia (Ross) 2000 Rockingham Campus R 994 CHR 2000
Chronicle of Australia (Ross) 1993 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994 CHR 1993
Headlines of History: A chronicle of Western Australian history
2002
Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.1 EDW 2002
What Happened When: A chronology of Australia from 1788
2000
Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994 BAR 2000

[ Reference Resources ]


Bibliographies

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People in
Commonwealth Records: A guide to records in the Australian Archives 1993
Murdoch Campus South Wing Level 4 G 305.89915 AUS
Aboriginal Religions in Australia: A bibliographical survey 1991 Rockingham Campus Link Level 2 299.92016 SWA 1991
Aboriginal Tourism in Australia: A research bibliography 1999 Reverve 338.479194 ZEP 1999
Rockingham Campus Link Level 2 338.479194 ZEP 1999
Australian Bibliography: A guide to printed sources of information (Borchardt) 1976 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994 B726 2
Australians: A historical library Vol.10 - A guide to sources 1987 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 RZ 994 AUS 1987
Rockingham Campus Level 2 Q 994
Bibliography of Australia (Ferguson) 1975 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994 FER 1975
Index to Journal Articles on Australian History (Hogan) 1976 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.0016 IND
Index to Journal Articles on Australian History 1971-1983 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.0016 IND
Index to Journal Articles on Australian History 1984-1988 (Crittenden & Borchardt) Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.0016 IND
My Heart is Breaking: A joint guide to records about Aboriginal people in the Public Record Office of Victoria and the Australian Archives 1993 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.5004991 AUS

[ Top ]


Atlases

Atlas of World Cultures Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 912.13058 PRI
Cultural Atlas of Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific 1995 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 990 NIL 1995
Rockingham Campus Level 2 Q 990 NIL
The Gaia Atlas of First Peoples 1990 Murdoch Campus South Wing Level 4 305.8 BUR
Geographica: The complete illustrated reference to Australia and the world 1999 Rockingham Campus R 912 GEO 1999 (includes CD)
Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia: Culture and society through space and time 2005 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 305.89915 MAC 2005
Macquarie World Atlas Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 RZ 912 MAC
Oxford Australian Atlas Murdoch Campus South Wing Level 2 912 098
Philip's Great World Atlas 2003 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 RZ PHI 2003
Times Atlas of the World Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 RZ 912 TIM 1997
Rockingham Campus R 912 TIM 2002

[ Top ]


Statistics

AusStats - Australian Bureau of Statistics
Provides full text access to all Australian Bureau of Statistics publications from 1998 onwards, as well as time series spreadsheets, multidimensional datasets and census community profiles. Coverage includes social, economic, demographic, environmental, labour, finance, and other statistics.
Australian indigenous geographical classification: maps and census profiles 2001 - Australian Bureau of Statistics
The Australian Indigenous Geographical Classification provides a geographic standard for the publication of statistics about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians. Maps in this product provide a visual representation of the geographic levels in the classification which comprises Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC) regions, indigenous areas, and indigenous locations. The Classification and its structure are incorporated into the product. In addition there are three geographic concordance tables. This product also provides indigenous profiles from the 2001 census showing key characteristics of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians for each ATSIC region and indigenous area.
Clib2001
2001 Census community profiles and classification counts (available on campus only)

Australia in Facts and Figures (Coppell) 1999 Rockingham Campus Link Level 2 319.4 COP 1999
Australian opinion polls 1941-1990 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 303.380994 A938
Australians, Historical Statistics (Vamplew) 1987 Rockingham Campus Level 2 Q 994
Sources of Australian Official Statistics (Newman) 1984 Murdoch Campus South Wing Level 3 GR 319.4 N553 1
Statistical Yearbook (Unesco) 1974- Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 310 U56 1

[ Top ]


Biographies

Aboriginal Artists of the Western desert 1994 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 759.9942 JOH
Aborigines of New Norcia 1845-1914 1989 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.100992 BIC 7
Aborigines of the Albany Region 1821-1898 1989 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.100992 BIC 6
Aborigines of the Southwest Region 1829-1840 1989 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 994.100992 BIC 8
Australian Dictionary of Biography 1966-2002 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 920.094 AUS 1966
Rockingham Campus R 920.094 AUS 1966 CD (Vol. 1-12, 1788-1939)
Australian Indigenous Servicemen WWI 2003 South Wing Level 2 P 940.3089915 AUS 2003
Dictionary of Western Australians Vol.X - Far from home, Aboriginal prisoners of Rottnest Island 1838-1931 1997 Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 920.0092991 GRE 1997
Rockingham Campus 920.0092991 GRE 1997
Who's Who in Australia 1927- Murdoch Campus Link Level 3 R 920.094 W628 1

[ Top ]


Archives

Primary source material can be found in archival collections in Australia and worldwide.

Australia

Archives Worldwide

Pictorial Collections & Image Databases

Listed below are web sites and databases of Pictorial Collections and Image Databases. Most of the major archival repositories will also have extensive collections, many of which will not have been digitised. It may be necessary for you to make direct enquiries to specific repositories. Contacts can be located by looking at the Archives listing. Indigenous Australians should note that these collections may include images or names of people now deceased.

[ Top ]


Journals

The library has journals available in print and electronic format. In some cases both the paper and electronic versions of titles are held. To find out which journals the library holds, where they are located, and in what format they are available, use the Library's Catalogue. To find individual articles on a particular topic use the Databases.

New Journal Display

Print copies of the latest issues of journals received in the Library are kept in the New Journal Display area on Link Level 3. Only the most recent issue of journal titles are displayed in the New Journal Display, other unbound issues will be in boxes next to the bound issues.

Finding a Specific Journal

Use journals to find articles on current Australian Indigenous Studies research. If you have a citation for a journal article, or have been asked to research from a particular journal, you can see if it is held in the library by doing a TITLE search in the Catalogue or by using the Citation Linker.

A journal the library subscribes to is Aboriginal History:

  • A Title search will display a result screen that provides a summary of the library's holdings. The details given indicate that the library holds this journal in both print and electronic formats
  • If you select record for the print format, it shows that the journal is held from Vol. 1 (1977)- onwards. The call number for the item is given, as well as the location within the library. You are able to determine that the library is still receiving print copies of the journal. By clicking on Latest Received you are able to find out the latest issue held
  • In addition, the result screen for Aboriginal History tells us that this particular journal is also available electronically via APA-FT and Informit e-Library. By clicking on the links in this catalogue entry, you will be able to access the full text of the journal. The links to the electronic version also provide details about our electronic holdings, for APA-FT the holdings are 1994 to present and for Informit e-Library the holdings are 2001 to present

Finding Other Relevant Journals

To broaden your search from a specific journal title to a general search for relevant journals, you can choose the Keyword search option in the Catalogue to perform a keyword search. Type a term to describe the topic you are interested in, followed by the term periodicals.

    For example type: aboriginal australians periodicals to find journals about some aspect of Australian indigenous studies......or
    indigenous peoples periodicals to find indigenous studies journals or journals covering aspects of indigenous studies
Alternatively, you could do a more complex keyword search to find a list of journals dealing with a broad area.

For example: (indigenous or aborigin*) and periodicals

In this example, two search operators (and, or) have been used to make the result more specific. This search will create a list of journal titles that have something to do with Australian indigenous peoples and indigenous peoples from other parts of the world. The asterisk (*) is called a truncator and can be used to find all variations of a word with the same root. For example, aborigin* will find aboriginal and aborigines and aboriginality, etc.

Australian Indigenous Studies Journals

The Australian Indigenous Studies titles listed here are a guide to the variety of journals available and are not a comprehensive list of what is held. Included are research journals - articles on specific pieces of research and reviewing journals - articles written by experts in a research field who review the literature in that area of research.

Select List of Journal Titles

Aboriginal and Islander Health Worker
Aboriginal History
Arts Yarn Up
ATSIC News
Australian Aboriginal Studies
Australian Indigenous Law Reporter
Australian Journal of Anthropology
Australian Journal of Cultural Studies
Australian Journal of Indigenous Education
Australian Journal of Political Science
Australian Journal of Politics and History
Australian Journal of Social Issues
Balayi, Cutlure, Law and Colonialism
Indigenous Australians in Business/IBA
Indigenous Law Bulletin
Journal of Australian Indigenous Issues
Land Matters
Land, Rights, Laws: Issues of native title
Land Rights News
Native Title Newsletter
Ngoonjook: Batchelor journal of Aboriginal education
Oceania
Social Justice Report
Talking Native Title: News from the National Native Title Tribunal

[ Top ]


Databases

Finding Journal Articles
Creating a Search Strategy
Australian Databases
International Databases
Library Portal
Alerting Services

Databases are collections of data which can be searched for a particular piece of information.
The Library's databases include indexes to journal articles and full text collections of materials such as journals, newspapers, statistical publications, encyclopaedias and legal materials.
You can search using key words or concepts relevant to your research topic.
A guide to Using Databases is also available.

Finding Journal Articles

The Library Catalogue records the titles of journals held in the library but does not index all the articles in each journal. To find individual articles on a particular topic use the Databases:
  • Choose a database from the Browse by Database Title alphabetic list, Browse by Subject Area to find journals in a specific discipline, or use the Quick Links to Major Databases list for the more popular databases
  • Some databases provide only a citation with a summary of the article (abstract), while others provide the whole article (full text) as well
  • All of the databases are accessible from the eLibraries on North Wing Level 3, South Wing Level 3, South Wing Level 4 and the workstations around the Library
  • Remote access is available using your User ID and Murdoch Password for authentication. For further information, see the Off Campus Access web page
  • A few databases require a specific password for access, which you can get from the Reference Desk on Link Level 3 - phone 9360 6838

Creating a Search Strategy

Before searching on a topic you need to have a clear idea of what it is you are trying to find. To help you to do this you can develop a search strategy, which enables you to focus your topic and then refer back and adapt as needed. A number of steps are necessary to create a specific and successful search strategy. The steps described here are useful for all information retrieval, not just searching electronic databases and journals.

  • Analyse the topic
  • Identify topic keywords
  • Use appropriate dictionaries and encyclopaedias to help clarify terms and identify synonyms
  • Combine keywords and synonyms in a search statement
  • Identify appropriate search operators to create the most useful relationships between keywords
  • Read through the HELP option in the database/s you intend searching for searching hints
  • Review the search results and modify the search statement if necessary

Once you have understood these concepts you can apply them when searching in a variety of databases. Most databases have HELP buttons linked to detailed search tips. Always check this option when you are searching a new database.

Australian Databases

Articles about Australian issues can be found in international databases, but not to the same extent as information about other regions of the world. If you need information that is specifically about Australian issues you should look in Australian databases. Below is a list of resources especially useful in tourism and related areas.

A+ Education: Australian Education Index Plus Text 1978 - Indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on all levels of education and related fields. Includes information published in Australia and Australian content published internationally. Includes an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset. Full text avialable from 2000.

AGIS Plus Text: Attorney-General's Information Service 1975 - Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) indexes and abstracts articles on all aspects of law. Provides abstracts of Australian and Pacific legal journals, and of articles in other law journals which are likely to interest the Australian legal profession. Subject coverage includes environmental law. Includes an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset. Selected full text coverage starts from 1999.

AHB: Australian Heritage Bibliography 1987 - This database covers Australia's natural and cultural environment including national parks, endangered species, wilderness areas, Aboriginal rock art and sacred sites, archaeological sites and historic buildings and towns.

AHRR: Australian Historic Records Register Settlement - 1988
A Bicentennial project listing paper based records held in private hands in Australia. Includes diaries, posters, sketches, recipe books, minutes.

AIATSIS - Indigenous Studies Bibliography 1968 - A bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. Source documents include journal articles, newspapers, pamphlets, published government reports, published conference papers, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and published statistical documents. Records are in English with some in Australian Indigenous languages. The broad topic areas cover languages, cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, oral histories, history, legal issues such as native title, criminal justice, land rights, customary law and its recognition, women's issues, youth issues, government policies and programs.

APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Full Text 1978 - APAIS is a wide ranging index of Australian sources in the social sciences and humanities. There is good coverage on issues such as the environment and on government policy. Full text articles from 1995.

ATSIhealth 1990 - A bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Source documents include theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents. The records relate generally to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health status rather than the social, historical, political or monetary aspects.

AUSCHRON: Chronology of Australian Historic and Current Events - A chronology of events in Australian history, covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport, with particular reference to significant happenings from 1993-1995.

AUSPORT: Australian Sport Database 1989 - A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport.

AusStats: Australian Bureau of Statistics 1998 - AusStats provides full text access to all ABS publications from 1998 onwards, as well as time series spreadsheets, multidimensional datasets and census community profiles. Coverage includes social, economic, demographic, environmental, labour, finance, and other statistics. (FULL TEXT).

CHRONICLES: The Australian Chronicles 1879 - An Index to Sources of Australian Biography is a resource designed to assist genealogists, historians and researchers locate biographical information on as wide a range of Australians as possible.

CINCH: Australian Criminology Database 1968 - Australian Institute of Criminology database which indexes material on all aspects of crime and the criminal justice system. Includes an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset.

FAMILY 1980 - An index related to Australian writing and research on all aspects of the family including the law and legal issues, psychology, sociology, economics and demographics. Includes an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset.

Informit E-library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection 1998 -
A full text e-press for Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Informit e-Library provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials.

MAIS: Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies 1988 - Indexes all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Subject coverage includes multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, welfare and social services, access and equity, settlement services, refugees and population studies. Includes an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset.

International Databases

Current Contents 2001 - Current Contents provides access to the tables of contents and article descriptions from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research publications in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and sciences.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP 1980 - About 400 of the journals in the multidisciplinary database, EAI, are available in full text. They include a number of journals relevant to Australian Indigenous Studies. (FULL TEXT).

Factiva - This database provides access to significant news items from over 6000 international sources, including more than 100 from Australasia. Coverage includes articles from newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals. Also provides information on companies and industries. (FULL TEXT).

Historical Abstracts 1955-
Indexes the worldwide historical literature in a variety of disciplines: multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies/gender studies, indigenous studies, religion, anthropology, political science and the history of specific disciplines e.g. science, economics, business, education, music, art and law. Broadly it covers the history of the world since 1450 (excluding North America). Includes citations to books and dissertations.

JSTOR - JSTOR is an archive of back issues of about 350 full text journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Coverage is from the first volume in most cases. Current content, usually the latest 3-5 years, is not available, but is added from time to time. (FULL TEXT).

ProQuest - A multi-disciplinary abstracting, fulltext and image database. (FULL TEXT).

Sociological Abstracts 1963 - Sociological Abstracts covers publications in sociology, anthropology, community development, demography, economics, medicine, philosophy, political science, social psychology and tourism.

Web of Science 1992 - Web of Science provides access to the three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. These indexes are a compilation of all the cited references from journal articles published during a particular year or group of years. They are unique because they are based on the assumption that articles which cite one another will have a subject link. In other words, you can use the work of one researcher to find papers that have been published at a later date by other researchers working in the same field.

Library Portal

Use the Library Portal to search across multiple databases and catalogues simultaneously.
From here you can select favourite resources and ejournals, save searches and records, and set up email alerts.
You are also able to link seamlessly to full text resources and other services using SFX .

To search Australian Indigenous Studies resources in the Library Portal, click on the following link:

The Library Portal

Australian Indigenous Studies

Alerting Services

Some databases allow you to save your searches and set up an email 'alert' for new articles that are being published. This allows you to keep up to date with the latest research in your field without having to regularly repeat your search.

For a list of the databases with this service, and instructions on how to create your alert, see the Alerting Services page.

[ Top ]


Journal Title Abbreviations

In many information sources the abbreviated form of the journal title is used in the citation and you will need to know the full title of the journal in order to check it in a library catalogue, or to cite it correctly. Some sources will have a separate listing of the full journal titles indexed but others may not.

You can use the following source in the library to check abbreviated journal titles:

Periodical Titles Abbreviations
NW Level 3 Enquiry Desk

There are also a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations. These include the following:

All that JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

[ Top ]


Document Delivery

The Document Delivery service will request copies of documents, theses and other materials which are not held in the Murdoch collection for staff and research students.
Requests are supplied from a number of sources including other libraries and commercial Document Supply services.

For information on using this service including how to register, and details of the fees involved, look at the Library's Document Delivery web site.

Subject Guides

The library has developed additional Subject Guides to assist in finding information resources in specific subject areas.

[ Top ]


The Internet

There are many varied sites and resources on the Internet, some more useful than others.
Remember the internet should not be seen as the only, or even first resource for information gathering.
Evaluate internet sources carefully before including them in your research materials.

Evaluating Internet Sites

The main criteria for evaluating a web site are:

  • Who is the author? It is important to check the author's credentials to determine whether he/she has the knowledge and authority to supply credible information. Check to see if any contact details are provided
  • How current is the information? See when the document was created and when it was last updated
  • What is his/her interest in the material? Can you detect any bias in the content and are you able to determine the purpose of the site? Check the address to identify the type of organisation producing the document. Be aware that commercial interests and some politically motivated sites may not present a balanced view
  • What sort of content is there? Can the content be considered comprehensive and of good quality? Does it provide links to other documents? Check on the audience the information is aimed at (e.g. primary school students or university students)

Selected Internet Sites

Subject specialists in the Library have selected internet sites in a number of different subject areas.

To access a listing of sites specifically relevant to Australian Indigenous Studies, click on the following link:

Select Internet Sites

Australian Indigenous Studies

The Government Information list provides links to some of the worlds government agencies. Many government publications are now published on the internet and are freely available to the public. Look for the Publications link on these internet sites to see a list of the available fulltext resources.

Search Engines

You could use a search engine to help find information on the internet. Use the University's Internet Resources page to see the many internet navigation resources available. Keep up to date with new search engines and internet sites by subscribing to one of the email alert services such as the Scout Report.

Email Lists

There are many email lists you could subscribe to in order to keep abreast of new developments. Some are discussion lists and some merely informative. For further information on lists, what they are and how to subscribe to them, look at the University's Discussion List page.

Some lists that you may be interesting in subscribing to are:

H-ANZAU - H-Net's Discussion List for the history and peoples of Aotearoa/New Zealand and Australia, and related fields. Provides information on how to subscribe to H-ANZAU
H-Net Discussion Networks lists history discussion lists in particular and function as a network, linking professors, teachers and students in an exchange of ideas and materials.
INDKNOW - the Indigenous Knowledge Systems List is a discussion list relating to cultural property and indigenous peoples. Provides information on how to subscribe to INDKNOW.

[ Top ]


Citing References

It is essential that any references used in your research projects are cited correctly. A comprehensive bibliography is an indication of how widely you have read for the topic. This record also allows any relevant papers to be found at a later date. The most important aspect of citing is to be consistent.

The Library's publication, How To Cite References, which discusses various citation systems, is available for consultation online.

Please remember that there are specific citation rules for electronic resources. The guides give examples of these materials.

Managing References : EndNote

EndNote for Windows is a software package that allows you to manage your references electronically. You can search databases, organise your references in a single database and create bibliographies and reference lists automatically in your word processor. For Honours and Postgraduate students it is considered a particularly valuable tool. Look at the Library's EndNote site for further information about the software and details on how to get access to it.

The Library holds introductory training sessions aimed at users without experience in using the EndNote software. The Library's Information Skills Training page provides details of classes that are available.

[ Top ]


Information Skills Programmes

During the year the Murdoch Library regularly offers training in how to use the resources it provides, such as Databases and EndNote, as well as how to research using the web.
These classes are available to all University staff and students. Details are posted on the Library's Training Notice Board, North Wing Level 3 and on the Information Skills Training page.
Postgraduate students should also refer to their Generic Skills Programme for details of Library related workshops.

[ Top ]