|
|
Media Studies, Communication Studies and Mass Communication Internet Resources
- AMG All-Movie Guide - A large on-line
film and video database of over 70,000 feature films, plus documentaries. Cast and production
credits, synopses, interviews, biographies, essays and various browsing capabilities such as
country, genre, date, glossary.
- Australian Broadcasting Authority
- Australian Film Commission - Includes corporate
information about the Australian Film Commission and online resources and publications.
- Australian Film Institute - The web site
of the AFI, containing information about the Institute, the Australian film industry and linking to
ot her sites relevant to the Australian film industry. The AFI catalogue indexes several Australian
screen journals.
- Australia's Cultural Network - A public access
gateway to Australian cultural organisations, websites, resources, news and events.
- BFI - The British Film Institute.
- Classic Australian Television -
Australian television drama from the 1950's, 1960's and 1970's, which has information, history,
episode details and interviews from classic Australian television series.
- CMP - Australian Key Centre for Cultural and
Media Policy
- Cinemedia - A centre for
screen culture. The Cinemedia Access Collection contains the credits of more than 30,000
Australian and international feature films, documentaries and shorts.
- Internet Movie Database - Extensive and sophisticated
international film database - includes credits, cast, reviews, plot summaries.
- LSU Libraries Webliography - Film & Media
- An extensive research guide to film and media resources on the internet. Covers general
guides, bibliographies, discussion groups, filmographies, organizations and periodicals.
- MCS - The Media and Communication
Studies Site - A British-based gateway to a wide range of web resources useful in the
academic study of media and communication.
- Motion Picture Database
- Cast, credits and reviews for some 35,000 movies released in the US, plus filmographies and
biographical information on thousands of actors, directors etc. from Cinebooks 23 volume
Motion Picture Guide and Ephraim Katz's Film Encyclopedia.
- Screen Network Australia - Gateway to hundreds of
web sites about Australian film and television - includes calendar of events and industry news.
- Screening the Past: an International,
Refereed, Electronic Journal of Visual Media and History - Published with the generous
support of La Trobe University publications Committee and the School of Arts and Media
- SCREENsite - A film and television
research and teaching database. Includes links to bibliographies, research guides, course
syllabi, discussion groups, electronic journals and other educational materials.
- ScreenSound Australia - National Screen and
Sound Archive - Includes a searchable text database listing over 385,000 items and
spanning 100 years of Australia’s film, television, radio and recorded sound heritage.
- Yahoo Directory -
Movies and Film - Gateway to movies and film from the Yahoo Directory and a good
starting point to launch a search of movie and film sites on the web. It groups sites into broad
subject areas and contains over 40 headings, for example countries, genres, filmmaking,
theory and criticism, reviews, screenplays.
- Yahoo Directory - News and Media
- Gateway to news and media from the Yahoo Directory and a good starting point to launch a
search of news and media sites on the web. It groups sites into broad sibject areas and
contains over 50 headings, for example broadcasting, journalism, media history,
photojournalism, radio, television.
You may also wish to look at the Home Page for the The School of Media, Communication & Culture - The site gives details of courses offered and includes staff profiles.
|