Murdoch University
Library

 

 

Tourism Internet Resources


Associations And Organisations

·  Australian Heritage Council- The Australian Heritage Council is the principal adviser to the Australian Government on heritage matters. The Council assesses nominations for the National Heritage List and the Commonwealth Heritage List and compiles the Register of the National Estate.The Council was appointed on 19 February, 2004. This is an interim site that will be further developed over the coming months.The Australian Heritage Council has replaced the Australian Heritage Commission but an archive of Commission publications is available on this website.

·  Ecotourism Association of Australia- Provides information on the Association, and links to a web Ecotourism Information Centre looking at current research and an Australian Heritage Commission database.

·  Environment Australia On-Line- Provides a wide range of resources on Australia's environment, plus links to the ERIN (Environmental Information Resources Network) Database.

·  ICLEI's Website- a searchable website for the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives with two main areas of focus - the Local Agenda 21 initiative from the UN's Earth Summit, and climate change.

·  IGLTA (International Gay & Lesbian Travel Association)- IGLTA is dedicated to elevating the standards of the hospitality/travel industry and supporting the business and professional members serving the needs of gay/lesbian travellers.

·  Pacific Asia Travel Association - PATANet- The Pacific Asia Travel Association is a not-for-profit travel trade association serving government tourist offices, airlines, hotels and other travel-related companies throughout the pacific Asia region. Has information on PATA member countries, on the organisation and its work, and links to an on-line journal Issues and Trends, Pacific Asia Travel.

·  TTF (Tourism and Transport Forum) Australia- TTF Australia is a national advocacy body for the tourism, transport and infrastructure sectors providing independent and non-political representation for the tourism industry. Many of TTF Australia's research documents are available in pdf format from this site.

·  Tourism Division of the Commonwealth Dept of Industry, Tourism & Resources- Has a wide range of statistics on tourism in Australia, tourism forecasts for Australia, and a number of on-line publications.

·  Travel & Tourism Research Association- The Travel & Tourism Research Association is a professional organisation of providers and users of travel and tourism research. The TTRA advances the quality, value and use of travel and tourism research and marketing information for the improved effectiveness of travel and tourism marketing, planning and development.

·  Travel Industry Association of America- has facts, profiles and statistics about the travel and tourism industry of America; research links; and travel information about the states of America.

·  United Nations Headquarters Homepage - Provides links to UN web pages and resources on the Internet, plus links to UN documents - some of which are available on-line.

·  World Bank- gives socio-economic indicators and data for both developed and developing countries.

·  World Tourism Organisation- The World Tourism Organisation is the leading international organisation in the field of travel and tourism. It serves as a global forum for tourism policy issues. Includes details of statistics and WTO publications. Some sections are availabe only to subscribers.

·  World Travel and Tourism Council - the Global Business Leaders' Forum for Travel and Tourism. Conducts economic research into the area of travel and tourism, and provides comprehensive access to online publications.


Australian And South Pacific Tourism Authorities

Australian Tourist Commission see Tourism Australia

Bureau of Tourism Research see Tourism Australia

 Tourism Australia- Tourism Australia is the Federal Government statutory authority responsible for international and domestic tourism marketing as well as the delivery of research and forecasts for the sector. Tourism Australia officially commenced on 1 July 2004. The new organisation brings together the collective skills and knowledge of four separate organisations: the Australian Tourist Commission; See Australia; the Bureau of Tourism Research and Tourism Forecasting Council.

Tourism Forecasting Council see Tourism Australia

·  Canberra Tourism- Canberra Tourism is the gateway to travel and tourism information for the Australian Capital Territory.

·  Northern Territory Tourist Commission- The NTTC provides information on travel and tourism planning and policy for Australia's Outback Northern Territory.

·  South Australian Tourism Commission- A tourism update featuring new products, events and South Australian Tourism Commission news.

·  South Pacific Tourism Organisation- Online resource for South Pacific Islands travel information, representing 13 island nations in the South Pacific region.

·  Tourism New South Wales- Tourism New South Wales is the New South Wales Government's tourism marketing and policy agency. As well as marketing the destination and its holiday experiences internationally and within Australia, Tourism New South Wales provides strategic direction and leadership to the tourism industry to support the development of tourism in the State.

·  Tourism Queensland- A guide to Tourism Queensland's services, information and research on the Queensland tourism industry. Links to Queensland Holidays - a comprehensive travel guide to holidaying in Australia's Sunshine State, Queensland, including the Great Barrier Reef, the Outback, world-class beaches, sun-baked islands, and green rainforests. Includes accommodation, attractions to visit, events to entertain, tours, and hire and transport options.

·  Tourism Tasmania- Provides travel and tourism information regarding Tasmania for visitors, government agencies, operators and the media.

·  Tourism Victoria- Tourism Victoria is the State Government authority responsible for developing and marketing Victoria as a premium tourist destination for Australian and international travellers. This site provides information on the services provided by Tourism Victoria, along with the latest news, research, publications and industry events.

·  Tourism West Australia- Provides information and maps on the WA regions, tourism associations, and links to internet sites relevant to WA tourism.


International Tourism Authorities

·  Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory- A directory of official government tourism agencies worldwide.

·  Canadian Tourism Commission- The CTC is a consortium of Canadian public/private sector partners representing provincial and regional tourism associations, government agencies, hoteliers, tour operators, airline companies and attractions managers. Provides a number of valuable tourism related reports, articles, and publication and reference information in addition to employment opportunities within the Canadian travel, tourism and hospitality industry.

·  Greek National Tourism Organisation- Includes information about vacations, attractions, accommodation, events and transportation.

·  Hong Kong Tourism Board- Includes information on trip planning, shopping, dining, touring, heritage, events. Details about the role of Hong Kong as a gateway to China are also given.

·  Indonesia Tourism- Search for general information, maps and facts about tourism in Indonesia.

·  Italian Government Tourism Board (ENIT)- Details travel in Italy, including towns, provinces and regions, getting around, art and museums, festivals and events, accommodation and thermal spas.

·  Tourism Authority of Thailand- Search for information on things to do and see, festivals and events, and advice for the traveller.

·  Tourism Malaysia- Includes information on regional attractions, accommodation and events.

·  Tourism New Zealand- Search for information on accommodation, transport and sights and activities.

·  Uniquely Singapore- Visitsingapore.com has all of the information you need to make planning your trip to Singapore easy, and to discover new things you weren’t aware of. Look through the pages to find out about getting to and around Singapore, where to stay, eat and shop, and how to discover the heritage and culture of the Lion City.

·  VisitBritain- Provides information on accommodation, attractions, events, flights & transport and business tourism.


General Tourism Resources

·  ALTIS- A subject gateway to internet resources in hospitality, leisure, sport and tourism.

·  Australian Customs Service- Information on customs procedures, requirements and the facilitation and concession schemes administered by the Australian Customs Service.

·  Image Enriched Learning in Tourism- IELT is an image database for tourism educators and students consisting of freely available images contributed by academics, researchers, industry and individuals with rights cleared for educational purposes. Users are able to browse within a range of tourism subject areas, or to search for images based on keywords.

·  International Federation for Information Technology and Travel & Tourism- Discussion, exchange and development of knowledge about the use and impact of new information and communication technologies in the travel and tourism industry. The website aims to bring the latest industry news, events and projects from around the globe.

·  John Beech's Travel and Tourism Information Gateway- A starting point for British university students (although other visitors are most welcome) who wish to search the Web for data sources relevant to coursework for travel and tourism modules on Bachelor and Masters degree programmes, and also for tourism staff undertaking desk research.   There are currently almost 900 links from the Tourism Information Gateway and a similar number from the Leisure and Sport Information Gateways combined.

·  Tourism Research Links by Rene Waksburg- Intended for use by tourism researchers, it contains links to organisations which manage, consult, or research tourism, as well as tourism schools. Select from the categories of Research, Niche Marketing, and Technology.

·  Women's Travel Writing, 1830-1930:A Women's Studies Digitization Project Initiative, University of Minnesota- Selected travel writings by women in the period 1830-1930. Includes women travellers from and to the United States, as well as selected American and European women travellers to non-Western areas.

·  World Tourism Directory.com- A comprehensive tourism industry directory with 110,000 entries from 330 countries, states, and territories. The directory includes contact information for ministries of tourism; national, regional, local tourist boards; tourism and travel industry associations; a huge list of inbound tour operators; airline companies; accommodation associations; outdoor and recreational activity associations; tourism media (press and consumer); general country information sources like a most comprehensive directory of embassies and consulates, but also general trade/economic information sources like investment authorities, chambers of commerce, etc. It also includes a comprehensive listing of international tourism associations, organisations and services.


Online Tourism Journals

·  Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research- The official publication of the Asia Pacific Tourism Association, includes conference papers and selected articles.

·  e-Review of Tourism Research (e-RTR)- e-Review of Tourism Research (e-RTR) is a web-based, bimonthly international research network for tourism professionals. e-RTR provides research reports and e-mails notifying subscribers of research highlights. It is a product of a cooperative project sponsored through alliances between Travel & Tourism Research Assopciation, Canadian Tourism Commission and Department of Recreation, Park, and Tourism Sciences at Texas A&M University.

·  Journal of Travel and Tourism Marketing- This journal publishes articles on travel and tourism as related to marketing management practices, applied research studies, critical reviews on major issues, and business and government policies affecting travel and tourism marketing. Some articles available online free of charge.

·  Space Future Journal- Asserts that the future of space is tourism. Up to date information, covering news, events and publications.

·  TOURISMOS: An International Multidisciplinary Journal of Tourism- A peer reviewed Open Access journal published by the University of the Aegean in Greece.

·  Tourism Research Links - Journals- Listing of free online tourism journals.


Research And Further Study

·  James Cook University Tourism Programme- Provides on-line full-text access to the Journal of Tourism Studies, links to various Cooperative Research Centres, and a very extensive list of links to Australian and International Tourism Internet sites.

·  Databases at Murdoch University- Includes references to journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, statistics and book reviews, as well as some full text material. Accessible to staff and students at Murdoch University.

·  Tourism Education - The purpose of this tourism education website is to provide a list of resources and links for tourism educators and students. The main areas provided are tourism books through links to publishers, links to key journals, links to key libraries and abstracting services, a specialist bibliography on tourism education, links to tourism organisations, providers of market research, jobs, courses, access to discussion groups, and links to other similar pages.


Eco-Tourism And Sustainability

·  Big Volcano Ecotourism Resource Centre- A comprehensive guide to ecotourism practice, ecologically sustainable development (ESD) and general tourism and travel best practice management sites worldwide.

·  CRC Sustainable Tourism- Details the Cooperation Research Centre in Sustainable Tourism staff, research interests and publications.

·  Green Tourism Association- The Green Tourism Association works to develop a tourism  industry that is ecologically sound, fosters appreciation of and respect for diverse cultural and natural heritage, and strengthens local economies and communities, while working collaboratively with a network of businesses, community and environmental groups, government agencies, heritage and cultural organizations and individuals that share a common interest.

·  International Ecotourism Society- A worldwide resource for travellers about preserving natural environments and finding a more meaningful way of travelling.

·  Johnstone Research Centre- Centre members with biological and social science expertise undertake research that facilitates conservation and restoration outcomes that are socially, environmentally and economically desirable.

·  Sustainable Tourism : A Research Website- The University of New Brunswick – Saint John, Faculty of Business has established a website for small and medium sized enterprise to assist them in managing in a sustainable manner.  The site contains basic information and links to codes of ethics, certification programs, useful Internet references, links to products, case studies and more.

·  Tourism Concern- Tourism Concern is a membership organisation campaigning for ethical and fairly traded tourism. This site includes information on fair trading current campaigns to promotes tourism that benefits communities.

·  Twinshare : Tourism Accommodation & the Environment- Looks at tourism accommodation & the environment , focuses on sustainable principles for low-environmental impact tourist facilities.


Sports Tourism

·  Sports Tourism International Council- The use of sport as a touristic endeavour, includes industry reports, a database and online journals.


Tourism Law

·  Government Tourism Bodies- Governments on the WWW: Institutions in the area of tourism.

·  Tourism and the Law: A Web Challenge- Information on searching the Web for material relating to tourism law, compiled by Dr. Joanna Richardson.

·  Tourism Law- A list of useful websites compiled by the University of Hertfordshire, Learning and Information Services.

·  Tourism Law Bulletin- Information on Australian tourism law issues from Ebsworth & Ebsworth Lawyers - a leading Australian commercial law firm, December 2001.

·  Travel Law- References to travel law articles recently published by Judge Thomas A. Dickerson, Westchester County Court, NY.

·  Travel Law Centre- Website of the Travel Law Centre at the University of Northumbria includes abstracts from the International Travel Law Journal.

·  U.S. National Consumer Law Center- Includes links to travel law articles.

·  WorldLII - Tourism and Travel- Legal directory and search engine - legislation, case-law, journals, law reform, by country and subject.

·  World Travel & Tourism Tax Policy Center- Focuses on travel-related taxes and the impact they have on travellers and travel companies.


Industry Links

·  Australian Federation of Travel Agents- AFTA is the official nation body representing the business interests of travel agents. It represents the majority of travel agents in Australia with 1800 retail outlets and 400 allied industry organisations, hotels, wholesalers, and tour operators. AFTA has over 2200 members.

·  Australian Tourism Export Council- Represents members of the inbound tourism industry.

·  Caravanning, RV and Accommodation Industry of Australia- Information on where to go caravanning and camping, where to buy or hire a caravan, touring or camping and 4WD shows and industry events, facts on the industry and industry associations.


National Parks

·  Australia's National Parks- Brief information relating to location and facilities.

·  CALM- Nature Base- Details the activities of this conservation agency and allows visitors to browse current news summaries.

·  Great Barrier Reef Visitors Bureau- A travel guide and reservations centre for Tropical North Queensland and the Great Barrier Reef for both Independent travellers and conference planners.

·  Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority - Information regarding the Authority which protects and manages the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The site includes a  research newsletter and marine data.

·  Parks Victoria- Parks Victoria is responsible for over 4 million hectares of the State's national and regional environmental, recreational and tourism attractions.


Subject Gateways

·  BizEd- Biz/ed is a unique business and economics service for students, teachers and lecturers.

  Environment Portal  Australia's environmental department offers links to programs such as biodiversity, natural heritage and marine conservation, includes a resource library.

·  Intute: Social Sciences- Intute: Social Sciences can help you to locate high quality internet relevant to social science, education and research.

·  Tourism Resources- A guide to resources that are either held in Murdoch University Library or available through the Library via the internet. Prepared by Jean Coleman, Subject Librarian for Tourism.


Statistics

·  Australian Bureau of Statistics- Click on By Topic to access statistics in tourism.

·  Aviation Statistics- BTRE collects statistics on a monthly basis from all airlines operating scheduled international air services to and from Australia.

·  International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators - Statistics- Includes: Preliminary Estimate of Antarctic Tourism 1999-00; Overview of Actual Antarctic Tourism 1998-99; Overview of Actual Seaborne Antarctic Tourism 1997-98,; Top 9 Most Visited Peninsula; Top 5 Most Visited Continental Sites; Antarctic Tourism Trends; and much more.

·  StarUK - Statistics on Tourism and Research- Access to UK tourism statistics and research, including innovations in statistics, tourism facts, national research projects and a range of publication and bibliographies.

·  Statistics Indonesia- Tourism statistics presented in tabular format via Statistics Indonesia.

·  Tourism Research and Statistics- Latest tourism data from Tourism Australia


Country Facts And Guides

·  Fodor's Travel Online- Comprehensive travel information on destinations worldwide.

·  Let's Go Travel Guides- Comprehensive travel information on destinations worldwide.

·  Lonely Planet On-Line- Comprehensive travel information on destinations worldwide.

·  Rough Guides Travel- Comprehensive travel information on destinations worldwide.

·  See Australia (Australian Tourist Commission) - Comprehensive information and facts for traveller's to Australia.

·  World Fact Book - Provides maps and comprehensive geographic, economic, demographic and social facts on countries worldwide.

·  World Information- Comprehensive travel information on destinations worldwide.

·  World Travel Guide- Provides social, cultural and travel information on countries worldwide.

You may also wish to look at the Home Page for the Tourism Programme at Murdoch University- The site includes details of courses offered, staff profiles and staff publications.