|
|
Women's Studies Internet Resources
Add New Links
Resources in the Library
Printed Guides to Library holdings
- Murdoch University. Library - User's guide to Murdoch University Library resources for
Women's Studies / prepared for the Library by D.E. Stanton. 2nd. rev. ed. Murdoch, W.A :
Murdoch University Library, 1988.
R 305.4071194 M974 3
- Stanton, D.E. (Deidre Esta) - Murdoch University Library resources for Women's Studies / by D.E. Stanton for The Irene Greenwood Library Resources Trust. Murdoch University Library, 1986.
R 305.4071194 S792 1
- Stanton, D.E. (Deidre Esta) - Woman: a finding list of selected items held at the Mordoch University Library / comp. by D.E. Stanton. Murdoch University Library, 1975.
R 305.4016 S792 1 and 305.4016 S792 1
Research Collections in Microform
Resources in Special Collections
- Special Collections (Murdoch University
Library) - Holdings include collections such as the Irene Greenwood Collection and the
Pankhurst Collection. There is also a large amount of associated manuscript material including
the Irene Greenwood manuscripts, the archived papers of the Women's Electoral Lobby
(WA branches) and the Abortion Law Reform Association, the Megan Sassi Collection and the
papers of the Public Peace Committee. The ephemera and poster collections also complement
these areas.
[ Top ]
Ecofeminism
[ Top ]
Feminist Theory
[ Top ]
Women & Development
- BRIDGE: Briefings on Development
& Gender - An information and analysis service with the objective of assisting
development professionals and organisations to integrate gender concerns into their work.
- Gender-CG
Network - An e-mail network on intrahousehold and gender aspects of food and agricultural
research.
- Gender, Science and Technology: International Policy Issues - Information, reports and links to collaborating organisations, maintained by Women in Global Science and Technology.
- GenderStats: A Database of Gender
Statistics - Developed by the Gender and Development Group (PREM Gender) and the Development Data
Group in the Development Economics Vice-Presidency.
- South Asian Women's
Net (SAWNET) Review - Links to sites about women's issues in Pakistan, Afghanistan,
India, Burma, Bangladesh, and Bhutan
- United Nations -
Economic and Social Development: Women and Gender - Links to UN programme sites.
- Women,
Development and the Environment - SOSIG subject guide, University of Bristol.
- WIDNET : Women in Development
Network - Searchable database of information and statistics, arrganged by subject and
region.
- Women, Ink: the largest international distributor of
books on women and development - Catalogue, news and links to related sites.
- Women
2000: Gender Equality, Development and Peace for the 21st Century (Beijing +5) - Reviews
the actions taken and lessons learned since the Platform for Action was unanimously
adopted at the Fourth World Conference on Women held in Beijing in 1995.
- WomenWatch - The UN Internet Gateway
on the Advancement and Empowerment of Women
- World Bank GenderNet - Provides
gender country profiles and statistics.
[ Top ]
Women & the Law
[ Top]
Women's Health
[ Top]
Women's History
- AFSCME LaborLinks - Annotated
links to diverse information on the history of women in the labor movement.
- American Women's History:
A Research Guide - Site maintained by Ken Middleton of Middle Tennessee State
University Library, describing and linking to all general and subject specific information and
primary sources in women's history.
- American
Women's History: A Research Guide - Primary Sources - Archival collections and primary
sources by type.
- Archival Sites for Women's
Studies - Compiled by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and
Research Libraries.
- By Popular
Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - An illustrated reference aid
with 38 pictorial portraits and scenes documenting the fight to gain women the vote. Produced
as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
- Diotima: Materials for
the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World - Includes a searchable bibliography,
links to art collections, anthology of translations and desired translations of primary sources,
and links to many other resources.
- Early Modern Women
Database - provides annotated links to high quality academic resources useful for the study
of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. Specific focus is on periods between the
sixteenth and eighteenth centuries
- Emma Goldman Papers -
Comprehensive site describing the collected papers of this famous activist, including finding
aids to the collection, photographs, selected writings, and bibliographical essays and
references.
- Medieval
Feminist Index: Scholarship on Women, Sexuality and Gender - Covers journal articles,
book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender
during the Middle Ages.
- Multimedia Sites
in Women's History - Maintained by Ken Middleton at Middle Tennessee State University,
lists and annotates internet accessible multimedia sites on primarily American women's
history.
- Undergraduate Study in History - Modules - History courseware with online tuturials on a wide range of topics in European
History from the History Department at Warwick University. Includes a tutorial entitled
Enfranchising Women: The Politics of Women's Suffrage in Europe 1789-1945 and a tutorial on
Major Themes in Women's History From the Enlightenment to the Second World War.
- ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's
History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals - ViVa is a current bibliography of
articles about women's and gender history.
- Votes For Women:
Selections From the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
- 165 books, pamphlets, and other artifacts documenting the campaign for Woman
Suffrage. Produced as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
- Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
(WSSLINKS) - A comprehensive list of sites compiled by the Women's Studies Section of
the Association of College and Research Libraries.
- Women in American History - The editors of
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online have put together this collection of biographical information on
women in American history from 1600 to the present.
- Women Writers Project - This Brown
University project aims to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and
make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general
reader.
- Women's History Sites
(WSSLINKS) - Compiled by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College
and Research Libraries.
- The Women's Library (formerly The Fawcett Library) - London Metropolitan University - Documents the changing role of women in society, in the past, now and in the future.
- Women's Studies Online Resources - List of sites relating to women's studies or women's issues maintained by the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.
- Women's Studies Research
Collections on Microform in Murdoch University Library - Guide to microform collections
relating to women's studies held in Murdoch University Library. Compiled by Pam Mathews,
Liaison Librarian, Murdoch University Library.
- WWW Women - History
[ Top ]
Women's Rights
- By Popular
Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - An illustrated reference aid
with 38 pictorial portraits and scenes documenting the fight to gain women the vote. Produced
as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
- Emma Goldman Papers -
Comprehensive site describing the collected papers of this famous activist, including finding
aids to the collection, photographs, selected writings, and bibliographical essays and
references.
- Feminist Majority Foundation Online
- Motherhood,
Social Service and Political Reform: Political Culture and Imagery of American Woman
Suffrage - Users can browse the gallery of 50 images or take a more in-depth tour of the
woman's suffrage movement.
- Not Part of My
Sentence - Violation of the Human Rights of Women in Custody - A comprehensive report.
- Suffragist
Oral History Project (UC Berkeley Library) - Interviews with twelve leaders and participants
in the woman's suffrage movement.
- UNICEF
and Beijing +5 - Reviews the actions taken and lessons learned since the Platform
for Action was unanimously adopted at the Fourth World Conference on Women held
in Beijing in 1995.
- Votes For Women:
Selections From the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
- 165 books, pamphlets, and other artifacts documenting the campaign for Woman
Suffrage. Produced as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
- Women and Social Movements in the United
States, 1830-1930 - Site developed by Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin consisting
of editorial projects of primary documents that speak to the history of women in reform
movements in the U.S.
- Women Leaders Online - Women Organizing for Change
- Women's
History Month - Resource site from Gale Research. Includes biographical information and a
timeline to key events in women's history.
- Women's Human Rights -
A selection of sites from the University of Minnesota Human Rights Library.
- Women's Human Rights Resources -
This extensive list is compiled by lawyers and law librarians, and is meant to assist those
interested in the legal aspects of women's human rights.
- WomensNet - Supports women's
organizations locally, nationally and worldwide by providing and adapting telecommunications
technology to enhance their work.
[ Top ]
Women in Science & Technology
[ Top ]
Archives & Libraries
Archives
Libraries
Bibliographies & Reference Sources
Citation Style Guides
Conferences
Gateways to Resources
- BUBL: Women - A searchable collection of
links to women's studies resources
- Canadian Women's Studies
On-Line
- Femina for Women - Sites for, by and about
women. Includes an email link to the Femina Cybrarian who will answer questions and help
locate resources. Maintained by US commercial provider Cybergrrl Inc.
- Feminism and Women's Studies - Publishes
women's studies and feminist works, particularly focusing on issues of sex, gender, sexual
identity and sexuality in cultural practices. Maintained on the English Server in the English
Department at Carnegie-Mellon University (USA)
- Gender - Links to information
resources on development or the environment. Maintained by Eldis: the Electronic
Development and Environment Information System (UK)
- Gender Inn -
Women's and Gender Studies Database This searchable bibliographic database contains
records describing over 5,000 works on feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender
studies focusing on English and American literature from 1950 to the present.
- Global Sisterhood Network
- H-Women - Part of the H-Net consortium
designed to enable scholars to easily communicate current research and teaching interests; to
discuss new approaches, methods and tools of analysis; to share information on electronic
databases; and to test new ideas and share comments on the literature in their fields.
- National Organization for Women
- South Asian Women's Net
(SAWNET) Review - Links to sites about women's issues in Pakistan, Afghanistan, India,
Burma, Bangladesh, and Bhutan
-
Women's Studies - SOSIG Subject Guides offer introductory tours of the Internet to people
who want to learn how to use the Internet to support work in the social sciences and who
want to identify some of the most important Internet sites in their field. Each guide has been
written by a SOSIG Section Editor - a university librarian/academic responsible for building and
managing part of the SOSIG collection. (University of Bristol)
- Women's
Studies Internet Resources - Provides links to discussion lists, electronic journals and
services available to women. Maintained by the University of York Library (UK)
- Women's Studies/Women's
Issues Resource Sites - A directory of sites noted as an especially worthy resource in the
Scout Report.
- WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies
Web Sites - Developed and maintained by the Women's Studies Section Collection
Development Committee of the Association of College and Research Libraries (USA).
- WWWomen - A very useful site providing
free-text searching for women's resources on the internet.
- Yahoo - Women's
Studies - Huge US-based searchable directory, including links to popular as well as
academic resources.
[ Top]
Discussion Lists
- Discussion Lists - Includes
information about what they are and how to subscribe.
- Gender-Related
Electronic Forums - An annotated, frequently-updated, award-winning listing of publicly-
accessible electronic forums (also known as "e-mail lists") related to women or to gender
issues. Compiled by Joan Korenman.
- H-Women - an H-Net discussion
group - "...encourages scholarly discussion to communicate current research and teaching
interests, to discuss new approaches, methods and tools of analysis, to test new ideas and to
share comments on current historiography". H-Women is especially interested in methods of
teaching history to graduate and undergraduate students in diverse settings. Membership is
free, and messages are archived. There are also links to a
range of other relevant resources.
- Women's Studies
Email Lists - Compiled by Joan Korenman.
[ Top ]
Electronic Journals
Indexes/lists of journals
Alphabetic list of selected electronic journals
[ Top ]
Organizations & Associations
[ Top ]
Women's Studies Programs
[ Top ]
You may also wish to look at the Home Page for the
School of Media Communication & Culture
at Murdoch University - The site includes details of courses offered, staff profiles and staff
publications.
Add New Links Should you have any suggestions for additions
(or deletions) from this page please contact
Helen Gibson and include the
site (URL) details.
|