Murdoch University
Library

 

 

Law Resources

Free Resources - for legal practitioners & general community

Primary Legal Materials

Secondary Legal Materials
Reference

Secondary Legal Materials
Commentary

 

Consult the Guide to Legal Research and Legal Aids for information about legal research. An overview of the Australian Legal System from the Attorney-General's Department may be helpful.

Items marked with * indicates subscription resources available only to Murdoch staff and students.


Primary Legal Materials

Case Law & Courts
Case Law & Courts

Australian Reports
* LexisNexis AU ALR, VR, NSWR, IPR, and more.
* Lawbook Online CLR, FCR, A Crim R and more.
* Westlaw CLR, FCR, and more.
* CCH Aust Torts Reports, AILR, and more.

Australian Cases - Unreported Judgments
* LexisNexis AU (most comprehensive for WA)
* Lawbook Online
* Westlaw
AustLII
Law Link NSW - Cases

Indexes to Australian Case Law
CaseBase on * LexisNexis AU
First Point on * Lawbook Online

Foreign Case Law
CommonLII Commonwealth Legal Information Institute
WorldLII including LII (US) and BAILI (UK)
* LexisNexis
* Westlaw

Famous Trials

Courts
Australian Courts & Legislation National Library of Australia

Commonwealth - AustLII listing

Western Australia - AustLII listing
Department of Justice J-Net home page including list of WA courts


Legislation
Legislation

The Australian Constitution (Pdf) (word version)

Commonwealth of Australia
ComLaw
Commonwealth Government Gazette

Other Australian States
ComLaw directory of other states
* LAWLEX (Subject Guide to Australian Legislation & current Bills and EMs)

Western Australia
State Law Publisher

WA Government Gazette

Foreign Legislation
The UK Statute Law Database
CommonLII Commonwealth Legal Information Institute
Guide to Overseas Laws and Statutes in the NLA

* LexisNexis
* Westlaw
WorldLII


Bills, Explanatory Memoranda & Hansard

Commonwealth of Australia
Bills BillsNet
Explanatory Memoranda ComLaw
Index to EM 1901-1982

Hansard

Western Australia
Bills Parliament of Western Australia
Explanatory Memoranda Parliament of Western Australia

Hansard



Law Reform
Australian Law Reform Commission
Law Reform Commission of Western Australia
Other Australian States
Index to Law Reform documents from British Columbia Law Institute Law Reform Commission Database
WorldLII

Treaties
 

Australian Treaties Library on AustLII other information may be available via the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Treaties Library

Multilaterals Project Treaties Project -Index

United Nations Treaties Database
WorldLII
* LexisNexis - search by type or name

Secondary Legal Materials - Reference

Abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

Abbreviations of Law Reports held at Murdoch
Medium Neutral Citation
Citation Guides

Australian Guide to Legal Citation, (2nd ed, 2002)

Legal Citation (Brief notes)
Authorised Reports
Dictionaries

Australian
* LexisNexis AU
-- Australian Legal Words and Phrases
-- Butterworths Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary

See also shelf number: R 340.013

UK - and other Commonwealth countries
* A Dictionary of Law part of Oxford Reference Online

USA
* Oran's Dictionary of the Law
* Native Americans and the Law: a dictionary

Other Jurisdictions
Duhaime's Law Dictionary
Legal-Explanations.com
Law.com dictionary

OneLook Dictionary Service

Government & Parliament

Western Australia
Parliament of Western Australia
Government of Western Australia Department of the Premier and Cabinet.
Department of Attorney General
Department of Corrective Services

Other states: Australian Parliaments
Australian Governments

WorldLII- Parliaments of theWorld

United Nations & UN Documents

ILO International Labour Organisation

Commonwealth of Australia

Parliament of Australia
The Commonwealth Government On-Line Directory
Attorney General's Department

Parliamentary Library publications

Australia.gov.au (search engine)

Law Schools Murdoch University School of Law

Edith Cowan University
Notre Dame University Australia
University of Western Australia

Council of Australian Law Deans

Legal Education on WorldLII

Legal Research Guides

Murdoch University Legal Research Guides
LLX - Comparative and Foreign Law Guides

 
Professional Associations

The Law Society of Western Australia
Professional Conduct Rules (WA)
Women Lawyers WA Website
Law Council of Australia
with links to Law Council Constituent Bodies
National Womens Justice Coalition


Murdoch Student Law Society
Australian Law Students' Association
Australian Law Librarians Group

The World Law Guide - Law Firms

Search Engines Google
Answers.com
 
Subject Directories

WebLaw - Australian Legal Resources
WorldLII - International Legal Resources
Findlaw - US

 

 

Secondary Legal Materials - Commentary

Encyclopaedias, Digests, & Restatements

Australia
Laws of Australia (R 348.94046 AUS) also on *Lawbook Online
FirstPoint which replaces The Australian Digest (R 348.94046 AUS) on * Lawbook Online
Halsbury's Laws of Australia on * LexisNexis AU

USA
* LexisNexis - browse Secondary Legal
* American Jurisprudence 2d
* Restatements
of the Law (USA)

* Westlaw - browse International Directory - US - Treatises, CLEs, Practice Guides
* Corpus Juris Secundum
* Restatements of the Law (USA)

* The Oxford Companion to American Law
* The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decision
s

Other jurisdictions
* LexisNexis - browse via Legal (excluding US) - examples below

*The Laws of New Zealand (LONZ)
* Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong

Halsbury's Laws of England in print
* Halsbury's Laws of England Monthly Review

* Westlaw - browse International Directory- International materials to country level.
* Canadian Abridgment
* Canadian Encyclopaedic Digest

Multi-jurisdictional
* Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences
* Human Rights : A Reference Handbook

Forms & Precedents

Australia
Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents on * LexisNexis AU

Court forms - see relevant Acts and Regulations, and Court web pages.

UK
Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents (SW 3 R 347.0550941 ENC 3)

Atkins Court Forms (SW 3 R 347.0550941 ENC)

* Westlaw - Table of Contents. In particular note UK Civil Procedure, The "White Book" etc.
* LexisNexis

Other jurisdictions
* LexisNexis

* Westlaw

 

Journals
See the Database page for extensive list of subscription databases

E Law Murdoch University Electronic Law Journal
AustLII Law Reviews Project
High Court Bulletin

See also
- electronic journals linked by title on the catalogue.
- list of legal journals databases in the Legal Research Guide
- legal alerts to set up email notification of Table of Contents for new issues

Australian Journals Online

PANDORA
Australian Digital Archive of Law and Criminology

See also print journals at J 340 arranged alphabetically by title.

Journal Indexes

Australia
Informit Databases
AGIS- Plus text (Attorney Generals Information Service - index plus some full text articles)
APA-FT
(Public Affairs index and some full text)
CaseBase
on * LexisNexis AU

AMPLA index

PANDORA Australian Digital Archive of Law and Criminology - index run by Google

* Westlaw
Index to Canadian Legal Literature
Legal Journals Index (UK)

International
* LexisNexis
Index to Legal Periodicals
UK Law Journal Index
International Legal Materials

Contents Pages from Law Reviews from the Tarlton Law Library

Legal Publishers

Australian Legal Publishers
CCH Online
Federation Press
LAWLEX
LexisNexis (Butterworths)
Presidan
Thomsons Legal & Regulatory (Lawbook)
Timebase

Legal Publishers - International list from ALLA.

Office of Public Sector Information (formally HMSO) (UK)

Looseleaf Publications

* CCH Online

* Lawbook Online

* LexisNexis AU

* LexisNexis


* Westlaw - Table of Contents

See also cabinets in Reserve for other looseleaf titles.