| Catalogue | Databases | Ask a Librarian | ||
| Library |
|
Library Resources in Environmental Law
|
| Using one of the dictionaries listed above give the definition of a "public nuisance |
Australia
Brown, G A, Environmental Audit Guidebook, South Melbourne : Centre for Professional Development (Aust.), 1993-
SOUTH WING LEVEL 3 344.46 ENV. 1993-2003. The current edition is available online within the library.Environmental Defender's Office, A Guide to Environmental Law in Western Australia : Proceedings of the EDO's Inaugural Seminar, A Community Guide to Environmental Law in WA, Perth : Environmental Defender's Office, 1997
South Wing Level 3 344.4609941 GUI 1997
Overseas
Winter, Gerd, European Environmental Law : A Comparative Perspective, Aldershot : Dartmouth, 1996.
South Wing Level 3 341.2422 EURKindt, J, Marine Pollution and the Law of the Sea, Buffalo, N.Y : W.S. Hein, 1986
South Wing Level 3 344.46343 KIN
Encyclopaedias can make a good beginning for legal research as they provide a broad overview of a topic and lead you to relevant statutes, cases and treaties. They may also provide useful summaries of relevant legislation. There are two Australian encyclopaedias currently being published:
Halsbury's Laws of Australia, Sydney : Butterworths, 1991-
Available on LexisNexis AU. Connect from the Library's Databases page.The Laws of Australia, Sydney : Law Book Co., 1993-
South Wing Level 3 R 348.94046 AUS also available on Lawbook Online. Connect from the Library's Databases page.Volume 12 of Halsbury's Laws of Australia contains a section on the environment, and Volume 14 of The Laws of Australia covers environment and natural resources. Other volumes may also deal with aspects of environmental law, such as the volumes on constitutional law. Check the consolidated index for each of the encyclopaedias to find the relevant volumes and sections.
Textbooks in the law collection are classified between 340 and 349 in the Dewey system, and are held on level 4 of the South Wing. The Library's catalogue can be used to locate textbooks. You can search by title, author, subject or key words (word). A word search will search for the occurrence of the words in the title, subjects, contents notes and corporate author fields. In general, texts on environmental law are classified at 344.46, texts on natural resources law are at 346.44, and books on international law are at 341.762. If browsing the shelves at the classification number, remember to look in both the general and pamphlet (P) sequences.
The Library holds journals in print, microform and electronic formats. Nearly all journals are listed on the Library's catalogue. To locate a journal, select Title from the main menu and type in the title of the journal.
Bound volumes of printed law journals are shelved on Level 3 of the South Wing, at J 340 and then arranged alphabetically by title. Unbound recent issues are available on the same floor in the new journals display area.
Journals held in microform are housed in the cabinets on South Wing Level 1. These are all indicated on the Library's Catalogue with the location MF 340. Microfiche/film reader-printers are located in the same area.
Databases include indexes to journal articles and some full text databases. They allow you to search for information on specific subjects, using the key words or terms relevant to your topic. The databases are available from the Library's homepage, using the Databases link, and can be accessed from workstations within the Library. Once you have connected to the Databases page, select from the alphabetical list at the top of the screen, or select the Law option from the Browse by Subject Area drop down box. There will also be relevant databases listed under the Environmental Science option.
Many of the Library's databases can also be accessed from off campus. The type of access you will have is indicated in the right column of each entry in the databases lists. Databases marked (Murdoch IP/Proxy) are accessible using your Student Network account and through the Library's Proxy server if you are using your own Internet Service Provider. In this instance, you will be prompted for your student number and Murdoch Password. Refer to the Off Campus Access Instructions on the Databases page for more information on the Proxy server. In some cases, you may be asked for a Murdoch login and PIN before you can access the databases. Individual databases may also require a login and password: click on the More Info link next to the database details to link to the passwords section. (You will need to login to with your student number and Murdoch Password.)
Note that some indexes to journal articles are also available in print, at Link Level 3, R340.016.
The major databases relevant to law are:-
Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS- Plus Text) (1975-) [Part of Informit Search (Australian)]
AGIS indexes Australian, New Zealand and Asian Pacific law journals. It also selectively indexes major British, United States and Canadian material. In addition to the electronic version, it is issued fortnightly in printed form. As the electronic version is only updated every month, you may need to check the printed version of AGIS for very recent articles.FirstPoint (A database within Thomson Legal Online ) A case citator and digest for Australian cases with very good subject indexing. Access is available from the Library's Journal Databases Page.
LexisNexis AU
An extensive collection of Australian Legal Databases including: Research tools such as CaseBase and Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, dictionaries and Statutes annotators; Reports - case law reports including ALR, IPR, VR and unreported judgments; Texts/loose-leaf services including Local Government and Environment Law publications from NSW and Victoria. The Source Directory tab provides a subject listing for Environmental Law.HeinOnline
This is a extensive archive of approx 1,200 full text law journals in true pdf format. The archive begins at the start of each journal title, with a 2-3 year gap in currency. Most recent issues of a journal are unlikely to be on HeinOnline.Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP) (1926-) - Access via "LexisNexis Total Research System" (which is a separate product to LexisNexis AU).
This indexes all major law journals from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand. The electronic database version covers journal articles published from 1981 onwards. Index to Legal Periodicals is included in the drop down box under the heading "Choose from My Last 20 Sources".
It is also available in print from 1926-1987.LexisNexis Total Research System
Fulltext database of legal and news resources. Includes law reviews, legislation and case law, secondary legal sources, and news services. Covers many jurisdictions, but primarily US based. Look for the heading "Environment", under "Law by Topic".
Access Information: If you are connecting to LexisNexis using Internet Explorer 5 or 6, you must have the privacy settings in your browser set to low. To check this, go to Tools, Internet Options and click on the Privacy tab. Move the slider to Low, click Apply, and OK.
Other databases which are less specific to law, but which may contain relevant material include:Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APA-FT) (1945-) [Part of Informit Search (Australian)]
APAIS is a multidisciplinary index covering Australian journals.Current Contents
The Current Contents database provides access to the tables of contents of more than 3800 international journals covering all disciplines. It is available from the library's catalogue and from the Library's homepage. A password is available from the Reference Desk.Environment Abstracts (1975-) [Part of Informit Search (Australian)]
Indexes over 800 journals, conference papers and proceedings covering all aspects of the environment. Note this index cannot be accessed from off campus.Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary index covering journals from 1980 onwards. It includes the full text of some journals, and is available from the Library's homepage, and via the Library's catalogue.Heritage Australia Information System (HERA) (1987-) [Part of Informit Search (Australian)]
This is a collection of indexes with information related to Australia's natural and cultural environment.
Using AGIS, find journal articles on the management of fisheries within Australia.
In addition to those already mentioned in earlier sections of this guide, there are a number of Internet sites and web pages relevant to environmental law, both within Australia and overseas. Internet access is available to students within the Library in eLibrary 1 on North Wing Level 3, and in eLibrary 3: The Parker & Parker Electronic Reference Centre on South Wing Level 3.Weblaw
WebLaw is an index to free authoritive Australian internet resources. These resources are available for many subjects including Environmental Law.Library Resources for Environmental Impact Assessment
This guide was produced by Murdoch University Library and includes print and electronic resources.
Environmental Science Resources
This guide was produced by Murdoch University Library and includes print and electronic resources.Department of the Environment (WA)
The Department of Environmental Protection and Waters and Rivers Commission now operate as the Department of EnvironmentEnvironmental Protection Authority of Western Australia
The EPA was established by Parliament as an independent Authority with the broad objective of protecting the State's environment.The Australian Government Department of the Environment and Heritage (DEH)
Commonwealth government site, with links to legislation, policy documents, publications and databases.AustLII: Australian Law Index: Environment
United Nations Environment Program (UNEP)
ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Environmental Law
| Murdoch University | Copyright & Disclaimer | Feedback | CRICOS Code: 00125J | Page Information |