|
|
Guide to Legal Research
Primary Materials
Primary sources consist of the authoritative texts of laws, as made
by law-making bodies. They include:
- Legislation: acts or statutes
made by parliament.
- Subordinate legislation:
rules, regulations, by-laws and orders made by bodies to which
parliament has delegated authority.
|
- Case Law: decisions or judgments
of courts on points of law
|
Note: * at the front of a resource name indicates
that it is available online and off campus to Murdoch staff and students.
|
Legislation
Legislation consists of Acts (also called Statutes) and subordinate (or
delegated) legislation. In Australia, the power to make legislation
is divided between the Commonwealth and the States. The approach
taken to find and update legislation differs slightly between each state
and the Commonwealth. This guide will concentrate on Western Australian
and Commonwealth legislation.
Bills
A bill is a draft of a law which Parliament proposes to enact.
Proposals for new legislation may come from a variety of sources, including
Cabinet, a Government Department, a Law Reform Commission or a Royal
Commission. Once a decision has been made to proceed with legislation,
the Parliamentary draftsperson is instructed to prepare a Bill.
Format
The first page of a Bill generally gives some or all of the following
information:
- the year of the Parliamentary session
- the Parliament and its House (ie House of Representatives or Senate)
- the date of the first reading
- the Minister or name of the Member introducing the Bill
- the title
- The date of the 1st reading (Commonwealth bills only)
The text of a Bill is set out in much the same way as an Act.
The provisions of a Bill are numbered and called clauses. Clauses
may be further divided into sub-clauses and paragraphs.
See example below:
1996-97
The Parliament of the
Commonwealth of Australia
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
Presented and read a first
time
Workplace Relations
and Other
Legislation Amendment
Bill 1997
No.
, 1997
(Industrial Relations)
A Bill for an
Act to amend the Workplace Relations Act 1996, and for related
purposes
|
Explanatory Memoranda
Most Commonwealth Bills are accompanied by explanatory memoranda,
which explain, clause by clause, the content and purpose of the Bill.
Since 2001 Western Australian Bills have been issued with explanatory
memoranda which are available online.
Passage of a Bill
Most Bills are introduced in the lower House of Parliament, which
is the House in which the government is formed, and where most Ministers
sit.
A Bill passes through several stages in Parliament before it becomes
law (when it is called an Act or Statute). These stages are:
- 1st reading
This stage is a formal one where only the title of the Bill is read.
There is little or no debate, and a date is set for the second reading.
- 2nd reading
The Minister responsible for the Bill introduces it and explains its
purpose. This is known at the second reading speech. The
broad principles of the Bill are then debated, sometimes over several
days.
- Committee Stage
This stage involves a detailed examination of the Bill, clause by
clause, either by the whole House, or by a standing or select committee
of a few members. The Bill may be amended during this stage,
and is voted on clause by clause.
- 3rd reading
This stage is largely a formality. The Bill is then sent to
the Upper House, where the procedure outlined above is repeated.
Western Australia: Flowchart for Bills introduced in the Legislative
Assembly and the Legislative
Council
Parliamentary Debates (Hansard)
The debates surrounding a bill, including the second reading speech,
are published in Hansard, or Parliamentary Debates. These are located
on Level 3 of the South Wing, at the following numbers:
Legislative Materials and Processes

|
Finding Bills
Bills are located with the primary materials on Level 3 of the South Wing,
at the following numbers:
- Commonwealth R 348.9401 A938
- Western Australian R 348.94101 W527
They are arranged alphabetically by title within each session.
Accompanying explanatory memoranda are filed behind the Bill.
- Commonwealth Bills and Explanatory Memoranda are available on the
Internet at ComLaw
from 1996 onwards, and from the Australian Parliament
for the current Parliamentary session.
-
Bills Digests produced by the Australian Parliamentary Research
Service provide useful background information on Commonwealth Bills.
- Western
Australian Bills are available on the Internet from 1997 onwards.
The following sources list Bills currently before Parliament:
- BillsNet
is an internet site which includes listings of bills currently before
the Commonwealth Parliament, and the full text of current bills and
explanatory memoranda, in addition to a selection of older bills
- Western
Australian Parliament - Current Bills is a listing of Bills currently
before the Western Australian Parliament. It gives the date at which
the Bill passed each stage in Parliament, and assent date. It can
be used to track debate in Hansard. Entries include links to the full
text of bills, or to the Act if already passed, and to the explanatory
memoranda.
An Email Notification Service for Bills currently before Parliament
is available on this site. Register from the Bill Details page of
the required Bill.
Proclamation of Acts
Once a Bill has been passed by both Houses of Parliament, it must be
presented to the representative of the Crown to receive royal assent:
For the Commonwealth this is the Governor
General and for Western Australia this is the Govenor.
Once it has been signed the bill is deemed "assented to" and
it is then an Act or Statute. The date of assent is printed on
the Act and a notice of the date is published in the appropriate Government
Gazette: Commonwealth
of Australia Gazettes and Western
Australian Government Gazette
The Act, however, does not become part of the law of the land until
it comes into effect or is proclaimed to commence. Section 2 of the
Act is usually the place to check for commencement detials. Unless the
contrary is stated in the Act
- Commonwealth Acts will take effect 28 days after the date of their
royal assent (Acts Interpretation Act 1901 s 5 (1))
- Western Australian Acts also will take effect 28 days after their
date of assent (Interpretation Act 1984 s 20)
If an Act is to commence on a date other than 28 days after royal assent,
it will be stated in the section of the Act with the marginal note Commencement
(usually s 2). In some cases, this may be on a date to be proclaimed,
in which case the date will be published in the appropriate Government
Gazette.
Finding Proclamation Dates
Commonwealth Acts
- Where an Act has been reprinted, the assent and commencement details
for the principal Act and all subsequent amending Acts are given in
the notes section at the end of the reprint.
- Proclamations with commencement information are made in the Commonwealth
of Australia Gazettes: Government Notices
- Australian Current Law : Legislation includes a Cumulative
Table of Proclaimed Legislation (* LexisNexis
AU)
Western Australian Acts
Alerts
Researchers can sign up for legislative alerts for individual legislative
intruments.
When you look at a WA Act on the State
Law Publishers site you can set up an alert from the Act to be
advised ever time that Act is amended.
See the Legal
Alerts Page for more information about setting up these services.
|
Acts
Acts are individually published in pamphlet form once they have received
Royal Assent, and are numbered sequentially for the year. These
numbers are referred to as the sessional details and are written in
the form, No XX of 199X, for example, No 5 of 1997.
At the end of each year they are re-issued in annual bound volumes.
Online Acts passed by year for Commonwealth
1973+ and Western
Australia 1990+
Any amendments to the principal, or original, act are published as part
of the pamphlet sequence and online.
From time to time, reprints of the principal act, incorporating all
subsequent amendments, are issued. These are filed alphabetically
by title in separate folders to the principal acts.
Occasionally, all acts are reprinted at the same time and issued as
a consolidation.
Format
Acts are set out in a similar manner to Bills. The clauses of
a Bill become sections of an Act. Sections may be further divided
into subsections and paragraphs.
An Act will generally have the following information:
- The sessional details (number and year) of the Act, for example
Act No. 60 of 1996
- The long title of the Act, for example, An Act to amend the
Industrial Relations Act 1988, and for other purposes.
- The date of assent
- The short title. This is found at section 1 (s.1).
An Act is referred to by its short title. For example,
Workplace Relations and Other Legislation Amendment Act 1996.
- Details of commencement. These usually appear in section
2 of the Act.
- The body of the Act, covering the details and substance of what
is enacted.
- Schedules containing matters of detail which would make the Act
difficult to read if they were included in the body of the Act.
A schedule may contain the text of an agreement or treaty, or forms.
See the following example:
Workplace Relations and Other
Legislation Amendment
Act 1997
No. 198, 1997
An Act to amend the Workplace Relations Act
1996,
and for related purposes
[Assented to 11 December 1997]
The Parliament of Australia enacts:
1 Short Title
This Act may be cited as the Workplace Relations
and Other Legislation Amendment Act 1997.
2 Commencement
(1) Subject to subsection (2), this Act commences
on the day on which it receives the Royal Assent.
(2) Schedule 7 commences on a day to be fixed by
Proclamation.
(3) If schedule 7 does not commence under subsection
(2) within the period of 6 months beginning on the day when
this Act received the Royal Assent, it commences on the
first day after the end of that period.
|
|
Finding and Updating Acts
Acts are located at the following numbers:
When using legislation it is important to ensure you have the most
up to date version of an Act. Electronic versions which are up
to date are "unofficial" compliations or consolidations. At
the moment they may not be used for court purposes although they are
considered adequate for research purposes.
The following indexes can be used to locate Acts:
Commonwealth Acts
- Commonwealth Statutes Annotations, and Federal
Statutes Annotations (*
LexisNexis AU), both list Commonwealth Acts alphabetically by
short title. Both are issued annually and updated every six months
with a supplement. Look under the name of the Act to find:
- the date and number of the principal act.
- the date of the latest reprint, indicated by "reprinted to..."
- the date and number of any amending acts since the latest reprint.
- For more recent information on Acts passed, check the latest issue
of the Acts
Tables, which lists new and amending legislation.
Australian Current Law : Legislation (Table of Acts
Passed, and Table of Amended Acts) (*
LexisNexis
AU) also provides details of legislative changes.
Western Australian Acts
Electronic Access to Acts
- ComLaw
includes the full text of Commonwealth Acts.
- Lawlex
A convenient gateway to the full text of principle acts
available from government sites.
- The
State Law Publisher web site includes the full text of
Western Australian Acts, and an additional Point
in Time facility which allows dating of an Act on any day since
7 July 1998
- *Timebase
although potentially 4-6 weeks out of date is useful for
downloading complete Acts.
- AustLII
gives access to the full text of Commonwealth Acts, Western Australian
Acts, and acts from the ACT, New South Wales, Northern Territory,
South Australia and Victoria but it should be
used with caution as the site
is often out of date especially
for Western Australian Acts.
- * LexisNexis
and *WestLaw
both have extensive collections of legislation from around the world.
- WorldLII gives
free access to legislation from many jurisdictions. Links are also
given to a comprehensive range of parliaments and legislative sources.
|
|
Subordinate Legislation
Parliament may delegate authority to other bodies (for example Government
Departments) to draw up rules governing the administration of an Act.
These laws are collectively known as subordinate or delegated legislation.
Subordinate legislation includes select legislative instuments, statutory
rules, regulations, ordinances, by-laws and rules.
The authority to make subordinate legislation is conferred by an Act
of Parliament, known as the enabling Act. The enabling Act frequently
stipulates the way the subordinate legislation is to be made.
Commonwealth
Commonwealth subordinate legislation, known as until 2004 as Statutory
Rules and since then as Select Legislative Instruments (SLI). Select
Legislative Instruments are published in much the same way as Commonwealth
Acts. SLI continue the Statutory Rules publication process of initial
issue in pamphlet form numbered sequentially for the year, and then
in annual bound volumes.
Reprints may also be issued, and are filed alphabetically by title.
The principle for finding a Statutory Rule is similar to finding an
Act. For court work you need to locate the most recent reprint
or the principal Statutory Rule, and all subsequent amendments. For
research purposes use ComLaw.
The following indexes can be used to locate Select Legislative Instruments:
-
Statutory Rules Table 1903 -2003 This lists
Statutory Rules by title and under the title of the enabling Act.
The main volume covers 1901-1991, and is updated by yearly and monthly
tables. The monthly and yearly tables are titled Tables
of Commonwealth Regulations
-
To ensure your research is up to date, you can
check the Commonwealth
of Australia Gazette..
Commonwealth regulations must be notified, but not published, in
the Gazette. Check the Government Notices and Special Gazettes
sections Gazettes
Online
Federal
Register of Legislative Instruments (FRLI) includes a category of
material made by government bodies including proclamations, orders,
notices, determinations and other material. For the definition of legislative
instruments see Legislative Instruments Act 2003 s 5 (1) which defines
legislative instruments" (a) as that is of a legislative character;
and, (b) that is or was made in the exercise of a power delegated by
the Parliament." Further subsections elaborate this definition.
The Legislative
Instrument Regulations 2004 schedule 1 lists those "instruments
declared not to be legislative instruments"
Western Australia
Western Australian regulations are published in the Western
Australian Government Gazette. Until 1992 reprints of regulations
were also published in this manner. Since 1992, reprints have
been issued in pamphlet form, and these are filed alphabetically by
title.
-
The Index
to the Acts of the Parliament of Western Australia,
Subsidiary Legislation in Force, lists all regulations in force
in Western Australia, under the name of the enabling Act.
References in the index are to the date and page number of the Western
Australian Government Gazette. If the regulations have
been reprinted in pamphlet form, the index will give the date of
the reprint, without any reference to a page in the Government
Gazette. Gazettes
have been online since 1998.
Electronic Access to Subordinate Legislation
-
ComLaw
includes the full text of Commonwealth Statutory Rules and the FRLI
(Federal Register of Legislative Instruments).
-
Lawlex
A convenient gateway to the full text acts available from
government sites.
-
-
*
Timebase (subscription service) although
potentially 4-6 weeks out of date is useful for downloading complete
Regulation
|
Case Law and Law Reports
Law reports are the written judgments of courts on points of law.
Not all cases heard are reported. Only those cases which raise significant
points of law or expand on the understanding of the law are published.
Since the late 1990's unreported judgments are available for most jurisdictions.
Almost all reported cases are heard in superior courts.
Law reports are published for the purpose of being used as precedents.
They provide consistency in the development of common law, ensuring
that like cases are decided in the same manner. Courts are bound
by decisions of higher courts in the same hierarchy. For example,
the Supreme Court of Western Australia is bound by a decision of the
High Court of Australia. Decisions made in equivalent courts are
not binding, but would have considerable persuasive force.
Law reports are generally published as a series of bound volumes.
A series of law reports may report cases decided in one particular court,
a number of courts exercising the same kind of jurisdiction, or cases
decided on a particular subject. For example, the Commonwealth
Law Reports only report cases decided in the High Court of Australia,
while the Federal Law Reports cover cases decided in courts of
federal jurisdiction, other than the High Court.
|
Authorised Reports
Authorised or official reports are those which has been selected and
approved by the judiciary, their nominees, or relevant governments department.
In each jurisdiction only one series is designated authorised. Cases
which enunciate a general principle or point of law are usually included
in the authorised series of reports.
While series of reports which are not authorised are still acceptable
in courts, if a case has been reported in an authorised series as well
as another series, it is preferable to cite the authorised report. An
authorised report should always be cited in preference to an unauthorised
report, (Rules of the Supreme Court 1971 (WA) 0.34.5.9A)
Unauthorised series of reports are produced more quickly and
many are directed towards satisfying the needs of specialist practitioners.
Unauthorised series of reports include many reports of cases which may
be published later in an authorised series, however they also include
reports which may only be of transient interest, or illustrate the application
of authoritative cases. The Australian Trade Practices Reports
and Family Law Reports are examples of series which only report
cases relevant to the subject area indicated in the title.
Few series are mutually exclusive. Cases may appear in several series
depending on editorial interest and assessment of the importance of
the case. For example significant High Court decisions are reported
in each of the following series: the Commonwealth Law Reports
(CLR), Australian Law Reports (ALR) and Australian Law Journal
Reports (ALJR). The ALR and ALJR are unauthorised series and the
CLR authorised.
The following is a list of authorised reports of various jurisdictions,
the citation is given in bold eg, CLR. Except for reports marked with
a "#" all the reports listed are held at Murdoch or are available online
through one of the case law databases.
The general arrangement of law reports held in the library is by jurisdiction
first (eg. Australia, Western Australia, New South Wales, United Kingdom,
USA, Canada), and then alphabetically by title within the jurisdiction.
Authorised series of reports are listed on the following tables.
Authorised Reports for Australian Jurisdictions
Commonwealth
| Jurisdiction |
Series |
Citation |
| High Court |
Commonwealth Law Reports 1903+ |
CLR |
| Federal Court |
Federal Court Reports 1984+ |
FCR |
| Administrative Appeals Tribunal |
Administrative Law Decisions 1976+ |
ALD |
Government departments which produce series of reports are:
| Jurisdiction |
Series |
Citation |
| Industrial Relations Commission |
Commonwealth Arbitration Reports 1905+ |
CAR
|
| Veterans Review Board |
Repatriation Pension Decisions 1985+ |
RPD
|
State Supreme Courts
| Jurisdiction |
Series |
Citation
|
| New South Wales |
New South Wales Law Reports 1825 - 1900
State Reports NSW 1901 - 1970
New South Wales Law Reports 1970+
|
NSWLR
SR(NSW)
NSWLR
|
| Northern Territory |
Northern Territory Law Reports 1991- |
NTLR
|
| Queensland |
Queensland State Reports. Queensland 1902-57
Queensland Reports 1958+
|
St R Qd
QdR
|
| South Australia |
South Australia South Australian Law Reports 1865-1920
State Reports. South Australia 1921-71
South Australian State Reports 1971+
|
SALR
SRSA
SASR
|
| Tasmania |
Tasmania Tasmanian Law Reports 1897-1940
State Reports Tasmania 1941-1978
Tasmanian Reports 1979+
|
TLR
TasSR
TasR
|
| Victoria |
Victoria Victorian Law Reports 1875-1956
Victorian Reports 1957+
|
VLR
VR
|
| Western Australia |
Western Australia Western Australian Law Reports
1899-1959
Western Australian Reports 1960+
|
WALR
WAR
|
Authorised series from other jurisdictions:
| Jurisdiction |
Series |
Citation |
| New Zealand: Court of Appeal |
New Zealand Law Reports 1883 |
NZLR
|
| Canada: Supreme Court |
Canada Supreme Court Reports 1876-1922
Canada Law Reports, Supreme Court of Canada 1923-69
Canada Supreme Court Reports 1970+
|
SCR #
|
| Canada: Exchequer Court |
Reports of the Exchequer Court of Canada 1881-1922
Canada Law Reports, Exchequer Court of Canada 1923-1969 |
Ex.CR #
|
| Canada: Federal Court |
Canada Federal Court Reports 1971 * |
FCR
|
| United Kingdom: High Court |
Chancery Division 1891+ Ch.D or Ch
Probate, Divorce and Admiralty Division 1891-1971 now
Family Division 1972+
Queen's/King's Bench Division 1891+
|
Ch.D or Ch
P. or P.D
Fam.D
QB or KB
|
| United Kingdom:House of Lords & Privy Council
|
Appeal Cases 1891+ |
A.C |
| United Kingdom: Government Department Reports |
Reports of Patent, Design & Trade Mark Cases 1884+
Reports of Tax Cases 1875+
|
RPC
TC
|
| United States of America: Supreme Court |
United States Supreme Court Reports 1790+ |
USSC.Rep or US # |
|
Unreported Judgments
When decisions are handed down by a judge or judges they are described
as being 'unreported'. Decisions are then selected by the judge or judicial
editorial board to be reported in the authorised series, or by publishers
for reporting in one of the subject series of reports. However, in jurisdictions
with a small population, such as Western Australia, many decisions remain
unreported. Although there is debate about the precedent value of unreported
decisions, in practice and in academia they are heavily used as they
may contain the only statement on the law on a particular subject.
Unreported judgments have different citation rules to law reports noted
below. Supreme Court of WA 'Practice Directions, No. 2 of 1999'
outline media neutral citation format for unreported judgments. See
Media Neutral Citation for more
details.
|
Citation of law reports
Law reports are referred to, or cited, in a standard form throughout
the common law world. The citation consists of four components:
1. the name of the case:
eg. Mabo v Queensland (No. 2) (The number 2 in
this citation refers to the second case between these parties in this
year.)
2. the volume of the series of reports. This may be
a volume number or year or both
3. the name of the report series, in abbreviated form
4. the page number where the case begins:
For example:
Mabo v Queensland (No. 2) (1992) 175 CLR 1
(1)
(2)
(3) (4)
In the above citation the year is added in round brackets to indicate
it is not essential information, as this series of reports is numbered
sequentially. Other series of reports do not have volume numbers, or
start with volume 1 each year, and without the year, it would be impossible
to find the case. As the year is the only means of identifying the correct
volume, it must appear in square brackets.
For example:
Morley v Statewide Tobacco Services Ltd [1993] 1 VR 423
See the Legal
Citation Guide for more detailed citation information.
See Medium Neutral Citation [pdf]
for details for citing unreported judgments.
|
Abbreviations
The abbreviation for a series of law reports is usually the initial
letters of the words in the title. The most commonly used abbreviations
for law reports held at Murdoch are listed in the Library's Abbreviations
of Law Reports. There are a number of other guides which can
help you match the series title and abbreviation.
- Cardiff
Index to Legal Abbreviations (Cardiff : Cardiff University
Information Services, 2003)
< http://www.legalabbrevs.cardiff.ac.uk/ >
- Raistrick, D, Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations,
2nd ed (London : Bowker-Saur, 1992)
- Fong, C & Edwards, A, Australian and New Zealand Legal
Abbreviations (Sydney : Australian Law Librarians' Group, 1995)
Other legal reference works also contain lists of abbreviations.
Some useful ones include:
- In Print
- Australian Case Citator
- Australian Digest Key and Research Guide
- Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary, 10th ed (London : Sweet
& Maxwell, 2005)
- Online
- *
LexisNexis AU - Go to the CaseBase search screen
and click on the related link to abbreviations/subject
list.
- *
Lawbook Online- Go to the FirstPoint search
screen and click on the Help button to down load the FirstPoint
Table of Abbreviations.
Finding Cases
If you do not have the full citation for a case, online case citators
are invaluable for completing case citations.
- Australian case citators include:
- International citator
Access to Cases online
There are a number of databases available which give access to the
full text of reported and unreported cases. Those available via
the Database
link on the Library
home page include:
- *
Lawbook Online CLR, FCR, A Crim R and more.
- *
LexisNexis AU contains ALR, VR, NSWR, IPR. LN AU has
the most comprehensive coverage of unreported judgments from most
Australian Superior Courts.
- AustLII
has unreported decisions from a range of Commonwealth and State Courts
- Supreme
Court of WA - unreported judgments of the Supreme Court of WA.
- *
LexisNexis contains decisions from a range of jurisdictions,
including Australia, United States, United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand
and the European Communities.
- *
WestLaw contains decisions from a range of jurisdictions,
including Australia, United States, United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand
and the European Communities.
- * Lloyds Law
Reports 1919+
Historical Case Law online
- The English Reports (on campus only CD) is a collection of
significant cases dating from 1220 through to 1865. This series is
available in print or electronically, on campus, via the library network.
Searching the English Reports gives great insight to the law
and society across several centuries.
- The State Trials (on campus only CD) includes significant
House of Lords trials from 1163-1858 as well as witchcraft trials
in Salem (USA).
NOTE: Most of the reports available electronically are held
in the library in printed form. It may be easier and cheaper to
photocopy the print versions after using the electronic tools to locate
relevant reports on a particular topic.
Noting-up
Noting up is the process of researching the subsequent judicial history
of a case - that is, finding later cases in which the case in question
has been discussed. This is necessary to ensure that a principle
of law stated in a particular case has not been overruled by a superior
court in a later case. It will also tell you if a case has been
commented upon, either favorably or unfavorably, in later decisions.
- Firstpoint (*
Lawbook Online) & CaseBase (*LexisNexis
AU) are Australian case citators listing cases which were
used to help judges make a decision in a case but also the noting
up process of listing cases which have subsequently considered a case.
- CaseBase has a more extensive coverage
of unreported judgments, which is particularly relevant for WA
legal researchers.
- Firstpoint focuses on reported decisions
and links only significant precedent links. It also includes the
litigation history of a case.
- A list of terms and definitions of status symbols and noting
up terms is available on the Firstpoint search page
Help.
- Australian and New Zealand Citator to UK Reports can
be used to find English cases which have been judicially considered
by Australian and New Zealand courts. Electronic access is also available
from *LexisNexis
AU
- KeyCite is an electronic case citator covering Australian
and overseas law reports, available from *Westlaw
Alerts
See the Legal
Alerts Page for more information about setting up services to alert
researchers to changes to the interpretation of the law and new cases
decided on a practice area.
Finding Cases which look at Statutes (Statutes judicially considered)
Cases which discuss specific statutes or sections of statutes can be
located using the following materials.
Commonwealth
- Federal Statutes Annotations available on *LexisNexis
AU and Commonwealth Statutes Annotations (in print)
both list cases under the name of the relevant statute.
- CaseBase (*LexisNexis
AU) search screen facilitates the search for statutes judicially
considered
- Firstpoint (*
Lawbook Online) search screen facilitates the search for
statutes judicially considered
- AustLII
legislation has a [Noteup] function which links statutes, and sections,
to cases which refer to them. Unlike the previously listed resources
this is not an edited service which means unrelated cases may appear.
Researchers must make careful selection of cases relevant to the statutory
provision they are researching. Also be very careful to ensure the
legislation is current.
Western Australia
- Western Australian Reports. The consolidated indexes
to the Western Australian Reports include tables of statutes judicially
considered.
- *Timebase
has a caselink section with a link from specific statutes
to some of the cases which considered that statute, or a section of
the statute.
- CaseBase (*LexisNexis
AU) & FirstPoint (*
Lawbook Online) both facilitate searching for statutes
judicially considered with jurisdictional limiting options.
- AustLII
[Noteup] function links statutes, and sections, to cases which refer
to them. Unlike the previously listed resources this is not an edited
service which means unrelated cases may appear. Researchers must make
careful selection of cases relevant to the statutory provision they
are researching. WA legislation on AustLII is often over 2
years out of date and researchers should use this as one step in their
research process.
The Australian Digest now replaced by *FirstPoint
(
* Lawbook Online)
A digest is a subject index to reported judicial decisions.
Cases are arranged according to their subject matter, and a short summary
of the facts and legal points of each case is given.
The Australian Digest and now * FirstPoint indexes
cases from Australian law reports since 1825. Cases are arranged in
broad subject categories, called titles, which are arranged alphabetically
and further subdivided. The structure of the Australian Digest
and FirstPoint offers a unique subject breakdown of legal concepts
as applied in Australian courts.
|
Note: * at the front of a resource name indicates that it is
available online and off campus to Murdoch staff and students.
This page updated on 25 January 2006
|