Murdoch University
Library

 

 

Law Resources - free resources for legal practitioners & community members

Primary Legal Materials

Secondary Legal Materials
Reference

Secondary Legal Materials
Commentary

 

Consult the Guide to Legal Research and Legal Aids for information about legal research. An overview of the Australian Legal System from the Attorney-General's Department may be helpful


Primary Legal Materials

Australian Courts & Legislation National Library of Australia

Case Law & Courts
Case Law & Courts

Australian Cases - Unreported Judgments
AustLII

Courts
Australian Courts & Legislation National Library of Australia
Law Link NSW - Cases

Commonwealth - AustLII listing

Foreign Case Law
CommonLII Commonwealth Legal Information Institute
WorldLII including LII (US) and BAILI (UK)

Famous Trials

 

Western Australia - AustLII listing
Department of Justice J-Net home page including list of WA courts


Legislation
Legislation

Commonwealth of Australia
ComLaw
Commonwealth Government Gazette

LawLex - A faster gateway into legislation. Search legislation, with Browse legislation arranging material by subject.

AustLII - Legislation [Note up] by legislation and provision for cases judically considered.

Other Australian States
ComLaw directory of other states


Western Australia
State Law Publisher
WA Government Gazette

AustLII - Legislation [Note up] by legislation and provision for cases judically considered. WA legislation updated monthly.

Foreign Legislation
The UK Statute Law Database
Guide to Overseas Laws and Statutes in the NLA
CommonLII Commonwealth Legal Information Institute
WorldLII including LII (US) and BAILI (UK)



Bills, Explanatory Memoranda & Hansard

The Australian Constitution (Pdf) (word version)

Commonwealth of Australia
Parliament of Western Australia
Bills BillsNet
Explanatory Memoranda ComLaw
Index to EM 1901-1982

Hansard

Western Australia
Bills Parliament of Western Australia
Explanatory Memoranda Parliament of Western Australia

Hansard

 


Law Reform
Australian Law Reform Commission
Law Reform Commission of Western Australia
Other Australian States
Index to Law Reform documents from British Columbia Law Institute Law Reform Commission Database
WorldLII

Treaties
 

Australian Treaties Library on AustLII other information may be available via the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Treaties Library

Multilaterals Project Treaties Project -Index

United Nations Treaties Database
WorldLII

Secondary Legal Materials - Reference

Abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

Abbreviations of Law Reports held at Murdoch University
Medium Neutral Citation
Citation Guides Legal Citation Guide (Murdoch University - AGLC now standard citation guide.)
Legal Citation (Brief notes)
Authorised Reports
Murdoch notes about using the Australian Guide to Legal Citation, (2nd ed, 2002)
Dictionaries

Australian

UK - and other Commonwealth countries

USA

Other Jurisdictions
Duhaime's Law Dictionary
Legal-Explanations.com
Law.com dictionary

OneLook Dictionary Service

Government & Parliament

Western Australia
Parliament of Western Australia
Government of Western Australia Department of the Premier and Cabinet.
Department of Attorney General
Department of Corrective Services

Other states: Australian Parliaments
Australian Governments

WorldLII- Parliaments of theWorld

United Nations & UN Documents

ILO International Labour Organisation

Commonwealth of Australia

Parliament of Australia
The Commonwealth Government On-Line Directory
Attorney General's Department

Parliamentary Library publications

Australia.gov.au (search engine)

Law Schools

Murdoch University School of Law

Edith Cowan University
Notre Dame University Australia
University of Western Australia

Council of Australian Law Deans

Legal Education on WorldLII

Legal Research Guides

Murdoch University Legal Research Guides
LLX - Comparative and Foreign Law Guides

 
Professional Associations

The Law Society of Western Australia
Professional Conduct Rules (WA)
Women Lawyers WA Website
Law Council of Australia
with links to Law Council Constituent Bodies
National Womens Justice Coalition

Murdoch Student Law Society
Australian Law Students' Association
Australian Law Librarians Group

The World Law Guide - Law Firms

Search Engines

Google
Answers.com

 
Subject Directories

WebLaw - Australian Legal Resources
WorldLII - International Legal Resources
Findlaw - US

 

Secondary Legal Materials - Commentary

Forms & Precedents

 

Court forms - see relevant Acts and Regulations, and Court web pages.

Check pages from Law Firms and Legal Publishers to find samples of products which may be of use

Journals

E Law Murdoch University Electronic Law Journal
AustLII Law Reviews Project
High Court Bulletin

See also
- electronic journals linked by title on the catalogue.
- list of legal journals databases in the Legal Research Guide
- legal alerts to set up email notification of Table of Contents for new issue

Australian Journals Online

PANDORA
Australian Digital Archive of Law and Criminology

 

Google Scholar - use Advanced Scholar search

Journals Indexes AMPLA index

PANDORA Australian Digital Archive of Law and Criminology - index run by Google

Contents Pages from Law Reviews from the Tarlton Law Library

Legal Publishers

Australian Legal Publishers

CCH Online
Federation Press
LAWLEX
LexisNexis (Butterworths)
Presidan
Thomsons Legal & Regulatory (Lawbook)
Timebase

Legal Publishers - International list from ALLA..

Office of Public Sector Information (formally HMSO) (UK)