| Library |
This guide has been created to help you find Politics and International Studies related resources that are either held in Murdoch University Library or are available electronically on the web. It is not an exhaustive guide, but rather a sample of the many kinds of information sources you can use for your research topics.
Use this guide to help you to:
- find books on your topic
- find journal articles both in print and electronic format
- cite your sources correctly using a specified citation style
- manage your sources using a software package such as EndNote
- take advantage of information skills training programs available through the Library
If you require further assistance to find subject-related resources enquire at the Reference Desk located on North Wing Level 3 in the library. For general queries ask at the Enquiry Desk near the entry to the library on North Wing Level 3. If you are unable to access the library, try the following options:
The Libraries Australia database is a very useful resource containing records from major databases world wide. Where an item is held in Australia details of each library's holdings are indicated in the record.
My Library is a service which allows you to stay informed about new materials added to the Library collection by setting up email alerts. Connect to My Library from the Library homepage or from the catalogue, using your Murdoch Username and Password. Once logged into My Library, you can search the catalogue, save your searches, set up email alerts, renew your loans, and recall items on loan.
Theses
To find theses completed at Murdoch University select the
T>TITLE option in the Web Catalogue and
then type the words murdoch university theses.
Select from the result by scrolling through the display to find Honours, Masters or PhD level theses
in your chosen subject area.
You may wish to look at further information about
Murdoch University theses.
Other universities also record theses in their respective library catalogues.
In recent years the Australian Digital Theses Program has been developed to deliver Australian theses (PhD's or equivalent and Masters by research only) in digital full-text format. By December 2007 there were over 21,000 digital theses online. Murdoch University now contributes to the Australian Digital Theses Program.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Free access to the most current two years of citations and abstracts in the Dissertation Abstracts
database.
The following printed index may also be of assistance:
Index to theses with
abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and
Ireland, 1986-1999 London, ASLIB.
(Murdoch University Library subscription between Vol. 35 (1986)-v. 48 (1999))
The concise Oxford dictionary of politics - Electronic resource
Cassell dictionary of modern politics
The dictionary of 20th-century world politics
Safire's new political dictionary : the definitive guide to the new language of politics
The dictionary of world politics : a reference guide to concepts, ideas and institutions
A dictionary of modern politics
The Macmillan dictionary of Australian politics
A dictionary of European history and politics, 1945-1995
Dictionary of the modern politics of South-East Asia
The concise encyclopedia of ethics in politics and the media
Encyclopedia of government and politics
International encyclopedia of environmental politics
Law and politics : a cross-cultural encyclopedia
The encyclopedia of revolutions and revolutionaries : from anarchism to Zhou Enlai
Encyclopedia of Cold War espionage, spies, and secret operations
The library has journals available in print and electronic format. In some cases both the paper and electronic versions of titles are held. To find out what journals the library holds, where they are located, and in what format they are available, use the library's Catalogue.
Print copies of the latest issues of selected journals received in the Library are kept in the New Journal Display areas. Social Sciences, Humanities, Education Science and Business journals are displayed in Link Level 3. Law journals are displayed in South Wing Level 3.
One journal the library subscribes to is Comparative politics. A Title search for this item will display a result screen that provides a summary of the library's holdings. The details described indicate that the library holds this journal in print format from Vol. 16, no. 1 (Oct. 1983)- The call number for the item is given, as well as the location within the library. From the information provided we are able to determine that the library is still receiving print copies of the journal. By clicking on Latest Received you are able to find out the latest issue held by the library. In addition, the result screen advises that this particular journal is also available electronically. For this entry the catalogue provides a link to the electronic version of the journal, Access via JSTOR . By clicking on this link you will be able to access the fulltext of this particular journal.
Remember: The library catalogue records the titles of journals held in the library but does not index all the articles in each of the journals. To find individual articles on a particular topic use the Databases. Instructions on when and how to use these will be covered in more detail below.
Databases collect information together from a varity of sources. Most typically a database will aggregate journal articles together from a range of journals. Journals are also known as serials or periodicals, which reflects the regular nature of their publication.
Some databases are indexes. This means that enough information is contained in the database records to help you establish whether you might like to track down these journal articles. You will not be able to directly retrieve the full-text of the article from an index.
Some databases are fulltext. This means that the whole of the articel is contained within the database. You will generally be not be able to directly retrieve the full-text of the article and sometimes in a variety of formats. (HTML, pdf, word)
Sometimes a databse will be a mix of index and fulltext. This might mean that you will be able to retrieve some articles in fulltext and only get the abstract information for other articles.
Nearly all databases can be accessed through the Library Database Page. This page provides a number of paths for accessing databases :
NB Please check Off Campus Access for information about how to access the Library's electronic resources remotely. Some databases require a password for access, which you can get from the Reference Desk on North Wing Level 3 (9360 6838).
AFPD - Australian Federal Police Digest 1991- Abstracts of articles from selected Australian and overseas journals and conference papers relevant to Federal law enforcement and community policing.
AGIS Plus Text 1975-
Indexes and abstracts articles on all aspects of
law. Provides abstracts of Australian and Pacific legal journals, and of articles in other law
journals which are likely to interest the Australian legal profession. Subject coverage includes
environmental law.
Australian
Public Affairs - Full Text (APA-FT), Fulltext 1995-, Index 1978-
A wide ranging index of Australian sources
in the social sciences and humanities. There is good coverage on issues such as the environment
and on government policy.
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies
(MAIS) 1988-
Indexes all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Subject coverage
includes multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, welfare and social services, access
and equity, settlement services, refugees and population studies.
Australian
Bureau of Statistics
ABS provides full text access to all ABS publications
as well as time series spreadsheets, multidimensional datasets and census basic
community profiles. Coverage includes social, economic, demographic, environmental,
labour, finance, and other statistics. (FULL TEXT)
Factiva.com
Provides fulltext access to significant news items from over 6000 international sources, including more than 100 Australasian sources. Coverage includes articles from newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals. Also provides information on companies and industries.
ProQuest
Abstracting, full-text and image database which includes telecommunications, accounting & tax, applied science & technology, Asian business, computing, education and religions.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines. It provides abstracts from approximately 2500 journals, book chapters, conference papers, relevant dissertation citations from book reviews. Sociological Abstracts covers publications in sociology, anthropology, community development, economics, medicine, philosophy, demography, political science and social psychology.
A complete listing of databases relevant to Politics and International Studies can be found on the Databases page under the Browse by Subject Area listing.
Periodical Titles Abbreviations
NW Level 3 Reference Desk
There are also a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations. These include the following:
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Politics & International Studies
The Government Information list provides links to some of the world's government agencies. Many government publications are now published on the internet and are freely available to the public. Look for the Publications link on these websites to see a list of the available fulltext resources.
The Library's publication, How to cite references, which discusses various citation systems, is available for consultation online.
One specialised guide that may be of relevance for some is the Murdoch University Library Legal Citation Guide.
Please remember that there are specific citation rules for electronic resources. The guides give examples of these materials.
The library holds introductory training sessions aimed at users new to the Endnote software. The Library's Information Skills Training page provides details of classes that are available.
.
|
© 2008 Murdoch University
| CRICOS Code: 00125J
| http://wwwlib.murdoch.edu.au/guides/arts/pais.html
|