|
|
Philosophy Subject Guide
Introduction
This guide outlines library resources specific to philosophy, both in print and online. It includes:
1) Explanations of each type of philosophy resource
2) Search terms to enter in a KEYWORD search in the catalogue.
A KEYWORD search looks for you search terms anywhere in an item's
title, subject, author, publisher, series or notes fields.
HINT: When you have retrieved an item via a keyword search, if you click on the SUBJECT heading assigned to that item,
you can retrieve the records for all other items in our library assigned the same subject headings.
3) Some examples. These lists try to indicate major works in the area, but there are many more held by the library that
are not listed.
General Library Information
Information about general research techniqes and general library tools and materials can be found at the sites below.
[ Top ]
Location of Philosophy Resources in the Library
Many items are accessed online and a few are shelved in the reference collection in Link Level 3. Required reading for units are in the Reserve Collection.
Philosophy books are in South Wing Level 4.The journals are on South Wing Level 1.
They are shelved at Dewey numbers 100 to 199, with psychology shelved in the 150's in the middle. The philosophy and theory of each major Dewey division is at x01. (eg. 601 is the philosophy of technology, 701 is the philosphy of art).
Here is a detailed list of Dewey numbers relating to philosophy:
| Dewey number |
Description |
Dewey number |
Description |
| 100 | Philosophy & psychology | 161 | Induction |
| 101 | Theory of philosophy | 162 | Deduction |
| 102 | Miscellany of philosophy | 165 | Fallacies & sources of error |
| 103 | Dictionaries of philosophy | 166 | Syllogisms |
| 105 | Serial publications of philosophy | 168 | Argument & persuasion |
| 106 | Organizations of philosophy | 169 | Analogy |
| 107 | Education, research in philosophy | 170 | Ethics (Moral philosophy) |
| 108 | Kinds of persons in philosophy | 171 | Systems & doctrines |
| 109 | Historical treatment of philosophy | 172 | Political ethics |
| 110 | Metaphysics | 173 | Ethics of family relationships |
| 111 | Ontology | 174 | Economic & professional ethics |
| 113 | Cosmology (Philosophy of nature) | 175 | Ethics of recreation & leisure |
| 114 | Space | 176 | Ethics of sex & reproduction |
| 115 | Time | 177 | Ethics of social relations |
| 116 | Change | 178 | Ethics of consumption |
| 117 | Structure | 179 | Other ethical norms |
| 118 | Force & Energy | 180 | Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy |
| 119 | Number & quantity | 181 | Oriental philosophy |
| 120 | Epistemology, causation, humankind | 182 | Pre-Socratic Greek philosophies |
| 121 | Epistemology (Theory of knowledge) | 183 | Sophistic & Socratic philosophies |
| 122 | Causation | 184 | Platonic philosophy |
| 123 | Determinism & indeterminism | 185 | Aristotelian philosophy |
| 124 | Teleology | 186 | Skeptic and Neoplatonic philosophies |
| 126 | The self | 187 | Epicurean philosophy |
| 127 | The unconscious & the subconscious | 188 | Stoic philosophy |
| 128 | Humankind | 189 | Medieval Western philosophy |
| 129 | Origin & destiny of individual souls | 190 | Modern Western philosophy |
| 130 | Paranormal phenomena | 191 | Modern Western philosophy USA & Canada |
| 131 | Occult methods for achieving well-being | 192 | Modern Western philosophy British Isles |
| 133 | Parapsychology & occultism | 193 | Modern Western philosophy Germany & Austria |
| 135 | Dreams & mysteries | 194 | Modern Western philosophy France |
| 137 | Divinatory graphology | 195 | Modern Western philosophy Italy |
| 138 | Physiognomy | 196 | Modern Western philosophy Spain & Portugal |
| 139 | Phrenology | 197 | Modern Western philosophy Soviet Union |
| 140 | Specific philosophical | 198 | Modern Western philosophy Scandinavia |
| 141 | Idealism & related systems | 199 | Modern Western philosophy Other geo. areas |
| 142 | Critical philosophy | 200.1 | Philosophy of religion |
| 143 | Intuitionism & Bergsonism | 201 | Philosophy of Christianity |
| 144 | Humanism & related systems | 300.01 | Philosophy of social science |
| 145 | Sensationalism | 305.4 | Women (Feminist philosophy is shelved here) |
| 146 | Naturalism & related systems | 401 | Philosophy of language |
| 147 | Pantheism & related systems | 501 | Philosophy of natural sciences and mathematics |
| 148 | Liberalism, eclecticism, traditionalism | 601 | Philosophy of technology |
| 149 | Other philosophical systems | 701 | Philosophy of fine and decorative arts |
| 150 - 159 | Psychology | 801 | Philosophy of literature |
| 160 | Logic | 901 | Philosophy of history |
[ Top ]
Monographs (Books)
A monograph is a single work about a specific subject, (as opposed to a journal or a periodical). They can be electronic or
print.
If you use an item in an assignment, always ensure you have checked the date that it was published. To find out what has
been written on the subject after this date, you can search the databases via the
Library Portal or Databases page.
Dictionaries
WHAT ARE THEY: These help you to clarify the meaning of your topic and to check for synonyms (similar words) for your topic words.
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND dictionary
Example: existent** AND dictionary (This will retrieve dictionaries with the words "existential,
exitentialism or existentialist in their record)
EXAMPLES:
The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy (1999)
Link Level 3 R 103 CAM 1999
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Click on the link for electronic access
A Derrida Dictionary (2004)
Link Level 3 R 194 D438L
Dictionary of world philosophy (2001)
Click on link for electronic access
Encyclopaedias
WHAT ARE THEY: A collection of individual headings that describe and summarize general facts about philosophical topics.
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND encyclop**
Example: phenomenology AND encyclop**
EXAMPLES:
Encyclopedia of philosophy (Macmillan)
Click on the link for electronic access
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (1967) (Macmillan)
Link Level 3 R 103 ENC
Encyclopedia of Postmodernism (2001)
Link Level 3 R 149.9703 ENC 2001
The shorter Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy (2005)
Link Level 3 R 103 SHO 2005
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (1998)
Link Level 3 R 103 ROU 1998
Concise Encyclopedia of the philosophy of language (1997)
Link Level 3 R 401 CON 1997
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Click on the link for electronic access
Companions
WHAT ARE THEY: These outline the major issues and points of view about a topic, and are sometimes laid out like an
encyclopeidia
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND companion
Example: mind AND companion
EXAMPLES:
Blackwell Companion to Philosophy (1995)
Link Level 3 R 100 BLA 1996
Oxford Companion to Philosophy (1995)
Link Level 3 R 100 OXF
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Routledge Companion to Postmodernism (2005)
South Wing Level 4 149.97 ROU 2005
Critical concepts in philosophy series.
Phenomenology : critical concepts in philosophy(2004)
South Wing Level 4 142.7 PHE 2004
These are comprehensive, multivolume sets. Other titles are: Aesthetics, Applied ethics, Pragmatism and Knowledge.
Blackwell Companions series.
A companion to ethics (1991)
Link Level 3 R 170 COM
Note: We also have "A companion to": aesthetics, epistemiology,contemporary political philosophy, bioethics,
cognitive
science, feminist philosophy,continental philosophy, analytic philosophy
Cambridge Companions series
Cambridge Companion to Nietzsche (1995)
South Wing Level 4 193 N677C
Note: This is one of a series. We also have Cambridge companions to Leibniz, Wittgenstein, Aristotle, Mill, "feminism in
philosophy", Hannah Arendt, Rousseau, Simone de Beauvior, Rawls, critical theory, medieval philosophy, medieval Jewish
philosophy, Duns Scotus, Pascal, the Stoics, Greek and Roman philosophy, Brentano, Adorno, Merleau-Ponty, Chomsky
Oxford Companion to the Mind (1987)
Link Level 3 R 128.2 OXF 1987
Readers
WHAT ARE THEY: Readers have extracts from major texts in the area, and sometimes explanatory commentary on these.
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND (reader OR readings)
Example: "moral philosophy" AND (reader OR readings) (The inverted commas and the brackets are essential in this example)
EXAMPLES:
Continental philosophy of science (2001)
North Wing Level 2 501 CON 2001
Introducing Philosophy: a text with integrated readings (2005)
South Wing Level 4 100 SOL 2005
Modern critical thought : an anthology of theorists writing on theorists (2003)
South Wing Level 4 190.8904 MOD 2003
Theories of Truth (2004)
South Wing Level 4 121 THE 2004
Philosophy: basic readings (2005)
South Wing Level 4 100 PHI 2005
Other monographs
WHAT ARE THEY: books written on about a specific topic. Unlike readers or companions, they don't necessary attempt to give a balanced overview of the field.
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name>
Example: Singer AND animal
EXAMPLES:
KANT, I. Critique of Pure Reason
South Wing Level 4 193.092 K16 1
In defense of animals : the second wave / edited by Peter Singer
Reserve Collection 179.3 IND 2006
HUSSERL, E. The idea of phenomenology
Reserve Collection 142.7 HUS
COHEN, T. Jokes : philosophical thoughts on joking matters /
South Wing Level 2 809.7 COH 1999
[ Top ]
Journals
WHAT ARE THEY: Journals, periodicals, magazines and serials are all the same thing. They are all publications (usually about just one topic) that are issued at intervals and continue to be published for an indefinite period.
HOW TO FIND THEM: All journals accessible at Murdoch are listed in the catalogue whether they are held in print or electronic format. Some titles
are held in both formats.
TITLE catalogue search: Enter the first few words of the title of the JOURNAL, not the article.
KEYWORD catalogue search:
1. Go to the Advanced keyword search page.
2. Enter a few words from the title if you know it, or the topic of the JOURNAL (not article)
3. Scroll down the page to the "Serial/Monograph" drop down box and select SERIAL.
The call number and location will be shown for journals
available in print, and a direct link to those which are electronic. When
there is more than one access point to an electronic journal, prefer the
publisher's site.
The full text of many journal articles can be downloaded directly by using database available through the Library Portal or databases page.
Recent print issues are available separately in the new journal display.
EXAMPLES:
Continental philosophy review
Online: 01/01/1998 to present
Print copy: Vol. 31, no. 1 (Jan. 1998)-v. 36, no. 4 (Dec. 2003) SOUTH WING LEVEL 1 J 100 M266 1
Idealistic studies
Print copy: Vol. 7, no. 1 (1977)-v. 13, no. 3 (Sept. 1983); v. 21, no. 1 (1991)- . SOUTH WING LEVEL 1 J 100 I22 1
Phenomenology and the cognitive sciences
Online: 01/03/2002 to present
Sartre studies international
Online: 01/12/2000 to present
[ Top ]
Databases
WHAT ARE THEY?: Databases are sets of references to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters etc in specfic disciplines
and are indexed by subject, so you can search them for information relevant to your topic.
They may include
- citations only (ie minimum information needed to locate items)
- citations and abstracts (or summaries)
- citations, abstracts and full text of items (in this case they may also be called electronic journal collections).
HOW TO FIND THEM: Go to the the Library Portal or
Databases page. Both have drop down menus for each discipline, including a
list of databases useful for philosophy.
Philosopher's Index
An index covering aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics. Also includes philosophical aspects of other
disciplines such as education, history, literature, law, religion and science.
Note: You will need to have pop-ups allowed for this link to work.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A citation index referencing more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
ATLA Religion database.
Covers such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues.
ProQuest
Broad, multidisciplinary database with a high proportion of articles in full text.
Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Broad, multidisciplinary database with a high proportion of articles in full text.
MLA International Bibliography
An index providing bibliographic access to critical materials on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Indexes over
4,000 international journals.
[ Top ]
Internet Sites
WHAT ARE THEY?: Internet sites can provide useful information. It
is important to assess internet sites and pages before using them for
research.
Important factors to consider are;
- Whose web site is it?
- What is their interest in the material (ie what approach)?
- When was the material last updated?
- How current is the information?
- Do the links work?
For a more detailed discussion please see
Evaluating Web Resources, produced by Cornell University Library.
HOW TO FIND THEM: Murdoch library has a separate page of Philosophy internet sites
On the philosophy internet sites page, you will find:
[ Top ]
|