| Library |
This guide outlines library resources specific to philosophy, both in print and online.
It includes:
1) Explanations of each type of philosophy resource
2) Search terms to enter in a KEYWORD search in the catalogue. A KEYWORD search looks for you search terms anywhere in an item's title, subject, author, publisher, series or notes fields.
HINT: When you have retrieved an item via a keyword search, if you click on the SUBJECT heading assigned to that item, you can retrieve the records for all other items in our library assigned the same subject headings.
3) Some examples. These lists try to indicate major works in the area, but there are many more held by the library that are not listed.
Information about general research techniqes and general library tools and materials can be found at the sites below.
|
|
[ Top ]
Many items are accessed online and a few are shelved in the reference collection in Link Level 3. Required reading for units are in the Reserve Collection.
Philosophy books are in South Wing Level 4.The journals are on South Wing Level 1.
They are shelved at Dewey numbers 100 to 199, with psychology shelved in the 150's in the middle. The philosophy and theory of each major Dewey division is at x01. (eg. 601 is the philosophy of technology, 701 is the philosphy of art).
Here is a detailed list of Dewey numbers relating to philosophy:
| Dewey number | Description | Dewey number | Description |
|---|---|---|---|
| 100 | Philosophy & psychology | 161 | Induction |
| 101 | Theory of philosophy | 162 | Deduction |
| 102 | Miscellany of philosophy | 165 | Fallacies & sources of error |
| 103 | Dictionaries of philosophy | 166 | Syllogisms |
| 105 | Serial publications of philosophy | 168 | Argument & persuasion |
| 106 | Organizations of philosophy | 169 | Analogy |
| 107 | Education, research in philosophy | 170 | Ethics (Moral philosophy) |
| 108 | Kinds of persons in philosophy | 171 | Systems & doctrines |
| 109 | Historical treatment of philosophy | 172 | Political ethics |
| 110 | Metaphysics | 173 | Ethics of family relationships |
| 111 | Ontology | 174 | Economic & professional ethics |
| 113 | Cosmology (Philosophy of nature) | 175 | Ethics of recreation & leisure |
| 114 | Space | 176 | Ethics of sex & reproduction |
| 115 | Time | 177 | Ethics of social relations |
| 116 | Change | 178 | Ethics of consumption |
| 117 | Structure | 179 | Other ethical norms |
| 118 | Force & Energy | 180 | Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy |
| 119 | Number & quantity | 181 | Oriental philosophy |
| 120 | Epistemology, causation, humankind | 182 | Pre-Socratic Greek philosophies |
| 121 | Epistemology (Theory of knowledge) | 183 | Sophistic & Socratic philosophies |
| 122 | Causation | 184 | Platonic philosophy |
| 123 | Determinism & indeterminism | 185 | Aristotelian philosophy |
| 124 | Teleology | 186 | Skeptic and Neoplatonic philosophies |
| 126 | The self | 187 | Epicurean philosophy |
| 127 | The unconscious & the subconscious | 188 | Stoic philosophy |
| 128 | Humankind | 189 | Medieval Western philosophy |
| 129 | Origin & destiny of individual souls | 190 | Modern Western philosophy |
| 130 | Paranormal phenomena | 191 | Modern Western philosophy USA & Canada |
| 131 | Occult methods for achieving well-being | 192 | Modern Western philosophy British Isles |
| 133 | Parapsychology & occultism | 193 | Modern Western philosophy Germany & Austria |
| 135 | Dreams & mysteries | 194 | Modern Western philosophy France |
| 137 | Divinatory graphology | 195 | Modern Western philosophy Italy |
| 138 | Physiognomy | 196 | Modern Western philosophy Spain & Portugal |
| 139 | Phrenology | 197 | Modern Western philosophy Soviet Union |
| 140 | Specific philosophical | 198 | Modern Western philosophy Scandinavia |
| 141 | Idealism & related systems | 199 | Modern Western philosophy Other geo. areas |
| 142 | Critical philosophy | 200.1 | Philosophy of religion |
| 143 | Intuitionism & Bergsonism | 201 | Philosophy of Christianity |
| 144 | Humanism & related systems | 300.01 | Philosophy of social science |
| 145 | Sensationalism | 305.4 | Women (Feminist philosophy is shelved here) |
| 146 | Naturalism & related systems | 401 | Philosophy of language |
| 147 | Pantheism & related systems | 501 | Philosophy of natural sciences and mathematics |
| 148 | Liberalism, eclecticism, traditionalism | 601 | Philosophy of technology |
| 149 | Other philosophical systems | 701 | Philosophy of fine and decorative arts |
| 150 - 159 | Psychology | 801 | Philosophy of literature |
| 160 | Logic | 901 | Philosophy of history |
[ Top ]
A monograph is a single work about a specific subject, (as opposed to a journal or a periodical). They can be electronic or print.
If you use an item in an assignment, always ensure you have checked the date that it was published. To find out what has been written on the subject after this date, you can search the databases via the Library Portal or Databases page.
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND dictionary
Example: existent** AND dictionary (This will retrieve dictionaries with the words "existential, exitentialism or existentialist in their record)
EXAMPLES:
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND encyclop**
Example: phenomenology AND encyclop**
EXAMPLES:
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND companion
Example: mind AND companion
EXAMPLES:
KEYWORD SEARCH TERMS: <topic name> AND (reader OR readings)
Example: "moral philosophy" AND (reader OR readings) (The inverted commas and the brackets are essential in this example)
Example: Singer AND animal
EXAMPLES:
[ Top ]
HOW TO FIND THEM: All journals accessible at Murdoch are listed in the catalogue whether they are held in print or electronic format. Some titles are held in both formats.
TITLE catalogue search: Enter the first few words of the title of the JOURNAL, not the article.
KEYWORD catalogue search:
The call number and location will be shown for journals available in print, and a direct link to those which are electronic. When there is more than one access point to an electronic journal, prefer the publisher's site.
The full text of many journal articles can be downloaded directly by using database available through the Library Portal or databases page.
Recent print issues are available separately in the new journal display.
EXAMPLES:
[ Top ]
They may include
HOW TO FIND THEM: Go to the the Library Portal or Databases page. Both have drop down menus for each discipline, including a list of databases useful for philosophy.
[ Top ]
Important factors to consider are;
For a more detailed discussion please see Evaluating Web Resources, produced by Cornell University Library.
HOW TO FIND THEM: Murdoch library has a separate page of Philosophy internet sites
On the philosophy internet sites page, you will find:
[ Top ]
|
© 2007 Murdoch University
| CRICOS Code: 00125J
| http://wwwlib.murdoch.edu.au/guides/arts/philo.html
|