Murdoch University
Library

 

 

Women's Studies Research Collections on Microform in Murdoch University Library

Anne Lister Papers (1806-1840)

Comprises Anne Lister's journals, volumes 1-24, 1817-1840, extracts 1887-1892, brief notes 1806-1810 and two exercise books 1816-1817.
17 microfilm reels and accompanying guides.
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.42092 LIS 2001
Guides shelved in Microform Collection at MF 305.42092 LIS 2001 GUIDE
Transcriptions from a selection of Anne Lister's papers can be viewed on the following website: From History to Her Story: Yorkshire Women's Lives On-Line, 1100 to the Present

Bibliofem

An on-going catalogue and a continuing bibliography on women. It is the joint catalogue of the Fawcett Library and the Equal Opportunities Commission Library (UK) and consists of over 400,000 books, pamphlets, periodicals, letters, press cuttings, photographs and archives on women.
fiche
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.4 B582

Emma Goldman Papers

Emma Goldman was one of the most influential and controversial women in modern American history, speaking out on major social issues including birth control, union organisation and equality and independence for women. Papers contain over 40,000 documents - letters, essays, speeches, government files, photographs, newspaper clippings. Correspondents include such figures as V.I. Lenin, John Dewey, Bertrand Russell, George Bernard Shaw, H.G. Wells and Harold Laski.
70 reels accompanied by a guide - Emma Goldman: A Guide to her Life and Documentary Sources
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 335.83092 GOL

Gerritsen Collection of Women's History 1543-1945

Coverage includes women's suffrage, feminism, history and social conditions, educational and professional training, employment, physiology, psychology and political and social reform. The collection is extensive - over 4500 titles consisting of books, pamphlets and serials.
13,300 fiche and 244 reels
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.409 G378

Herstory 1956-1974

Microfilm edition of the International Women's History periodical Archive. It is a comprehensive coverage of the ideas and events of the resurgent women's movement as recorded in serial literature published (for the most part) in the United States.
90 reels
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.409 H572

History of Women

The great strength of the collection lies in the quantity of monographs (approx. 20,000) which have been microfilmed. Filmed in chronological order they enable scholars to follow historical developments in any particular period from medieval times through to 1920. Other segments of the collection are pamphlets, manuscripts, periodicals and photographs.
1248 reels
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.409 H673

International Women's Suffrage - Part 1: Suffrage Correspondence of Rose Scott 1847-1925

Original held in the State Library of New South Wales
3 reels and Guide
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 324.623 SCO 1998

Lowell Offering 1840 -1845

A repository of original articles on various subjects written by factory operatives. This collection is mainly of interest to researchers in women's studies and covers such areas as conditions of female factory workers in New England, backgrounds of operatives, level of education, problems faced by country girls coming to the city etc.
20 fiche
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 331.4877 L9171

National Woman's Party Papers 1913-1974

The N.W.P. fought for equal rights for women world wide. This collection contains over 450,000 pages of material for students of political, legal and cultural history, and women's studies.
173 reels
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.420973 N277

Papers of Eleanor Roosevelt 1933-1945

These papers represent the most comprehensive collection of source materials by and about Eleanor Roosevelt. Of particular interest is her correspondence with Walter White of the NAACP, material about her family, especially her father, and drafts of articles and lectures
20 reels
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 973.9170924 R780

Papers of the League of Women Voters 1918-1974

Papers are drawn mainly from the files of the League headquarters in Washington.
Part 1. Meetings of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committees: Minutes and Related Documents
Part 2. Transcripts and the Records of National Conventions, 1919-1974, and of General Councils, 1927-1973
Part 3. Series A. National Office Subject Files, 1920-1932
In the words of political scientist Louise Young "The history of the League is the autobiography of the enfranchised female sex in the United States".
98 reels and a printed index.
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 324.6230973 L434

Sexual Politics in Britain 1967-1979

An attempt by Harvester Press to publish the complete output of pressure groups and organisations striving for women's liberation, gay rights, anti-discrimination and oppression generally, whether sexist or sexual. Covers mainly journals, pamphlets, open letters, leaflets, conference reports, public broadcasts, manifestos, minutes and agenda meetings etc.
fiche
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.40941 S518 1

Women Advising Women: Early Women's Journals, Advice Books and Related Sources

Part 2: Advice Books, Manuals, Almanacs and Journals c1625-1837, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford
This collection will enable scholars to see how women were expected to behave in 1680, in 1730, in 1780 and in 1830, to see how language evolved and practices changed, to understand the notions of the public and private sphere. Includes one of the longest running publications aimed at women - The Ladies Diary...1706-1840.
In all 320 separate titles are reproduced in Part 2. 20 reels with guide
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.409 WOM
Guide shelved in Microform Collection at MF 305.409 WOM GUIDE
An Online Guide to this collection is also available from the publisher's site at Adam Matthew Publications Ltd.

Women's Language and Experience, 1500-1940: Women's Diaries and Related Sources

Part 1: Sources from the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire County Record Offices 1500-1940
Makes available an abundance of hitherto unknown material for the study of women's lives, language and experiences, from the early modern period to the onset of the Second World War. It is based on women's diaries, pocket books, occasional memoirs, autobiographies, travel journals, commonplace books and memoranda. Material has been selected to maintain a balance in the coverage of historical periods, geographical areas, subject matter, and - insofar as this is possible - in the social strata of the women concerned.
Part 1: 16 reels with guide
Location: South Wing Level 1 Microform Collection MF 305.4209 WOM
Guide shelved in Microform Collection at MF 305.4209 WOM GUIDE
An Online Guide to this collection is also available from the publisher's site at Adam Matthew Publications Ltd.