Psychology Resources
Find PSY books via Library catalogues
Find print or electronic reference resources (dictionaries, encyclopedias)
Find journal articles via Library catalogue (where a journal reference is given)
Find PSY journal articles via PSY Databases (start from scratch)
How to open up a full text online journal article via PSY Databases
Using Library Portal
Contacts (Ref. desk, Ask a librarian, Chat and Psychology Librarian)
Search other Universities'catalogues and Libraries Australia
Locate psychology journal articles via PSY and other Databases
Citation Databases shows number of times an article has been cited by xxx
Email alerting Services when new research is done, an email alert will be sent
Find print/electronic theses held at Murdoch or other universities
Other psychology related reference resources
Contacts (Ref. desk, Ask a librarian, Chat and Psychology Librarian)
Links to
Psychology Internet Sites (free on the web)
How to cite references (APA style)
School of Psychology (Murdoch Univesity)
Psychologists Act 2005(Western Australia)
Psychologists Regulations 2007 (Western Australia)
Undergraduates
Find Psychology books via Library catalogues
The Library has arranged a page for all undergraduates which contains most of the topics an undergraduate would need to know.
The following information provides a guide to assist you in finding psychology information resources which are either held in the Library or are available electronically on the web.
The Library Home Page offers a gateway to locating the information sources provided by the Library.
One of the key accesses is to the Library's Catalogue. You should always use the library catalogue as your first starting point to find print or electronic books, journals and other resources that may be helpful
in providing information about your topic. From here you will also be able to determine the availability and location of resources in which you are interested. A few search examples are shown as follows:
Title search : you know the exact title e.g. A student's guide to studying psychology
Keyword search : you know some words but not the exact title or order of words e.g. psychology guide students
Author search : when you know names of individual authors, editors, compilers etc. or government departments and institutions. For individual authors,
type the author's surname followed by the first name or initial, e.g. heffernan thomas or heffernan t
For further information in using the catalogue go to How to search the Murdoch Library Catalogue.
Finding print / electronic psychology reference resources (dictionaries, encyclopedias) via the Library catalogue
For background and general information on terms or concepts of psychology, there are many reference books such as psychology dictionaries or encyclopedias available.
Use these resources to clarify the meaning of your topic and to check for synonyms (similar words) for your topic words.
Do a subject search for "psychology dictionaries" and you shall find a list of print or electronic psychology dictionaries, which is listed in alphabectical order.
Do a keyword search for "electronic psychology dicitonaries" and you shall find the following list of electronic psychology dictinaries which you can clarify the meaning of your topic. A few examples are listed here
A Dictionary of psychology
Concise dictionary of Psychology
Oxford Reference Online
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
You may also like to check the full list of Psychology electronic reference resources
Finding Psychology journals via Murdoch Library Catalogue or Citation Linker
All journals (print or electronic) subscribed to by Murdoch are listed in the catalogue. If you are given a reference to a journal article titled "Talk does not cook rice:
beyond anti-racism rhetoric to strategies for social action"
written by Pedersen, Anne; Walker, Iain; Wise, Mike
from e.g. Australian Psychologist. Vol 40(1), Mar 2005, pp. 20-30 and you want
to know if Murdoch Library holds the title, there are a number of options you can try:
1. At Murdoch library catalogue, do a title search for a "australian psychologist". You will see two entries, the first is for our print collection and
the other is for the electronic version. You need to check the date (2005), volume (40) and issue(1) of the article you are referred to in order to decide which version you can use. In some cases, it may be available in both the print and electronic format.
2. Another short cut is via Citation Linker. This is however for online articles ONLY: You must enter at least a journal title or issn. Enter more details for better results.
If you cannot locate the items by either way, speak to a reference
librarian on duty.
Find PSY journals via Psychology Databases
Databases are sets of references to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters etc in specfic subject disciplines or multi-disciplines,
hence you can search them for information relevant to your topic. You would use them when you have a few keywords or concepts and you do not know which journals contain the
articles that would be useful for your assignment. All databases can be accessed through the Library Databases Page, or you can go straight to the list that shows all Psychology Databases.
Please see Off Campus Access for information about how to access the Library's electronic resources remotely.
This list as follows shows a few psychology databases that Murdoch currrently subscribes to and those should help you to find either full text articles or abstract which
would assist you to work on your assignment.
PsycINFO (Abstract)
is the most important source of finding research information in psychology. It indexes and abstracts over 1300 journals in more than 25 languages. It includes book chapters, books,
technical reports and citations to dissertations. It covers the professional and academic literature
in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Even though it is an abstracting databases,
it has the icon linking you to find full text journal articles in electronic
format (if it is available) or to the catalogue to check if we hold the print version.
PsycARTICLES (Full text)
is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the Amer ican Psychological Association. The database includes all material from the print journals with the
exception of advertisements and editorial board lists. All titles are also indexed in the PsycINFO
database.
Click here
to access the list of full text titles
Academic OneFile (Full text)
Academic OneFile provides access to full-text articles from the world's leading journals (many of them peer-reviewed) and reference sources. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. It also provides citations to articles in many other journal titles.
ProQuest (Full text)
Proquest is a service which provides access to a number of databases, with a high proportion of the contents in fulltext. Several databases within the collection are of some use for health sciences, but the whole collection can be searched at once.
Scopus (Abstract)
It is an abstracting and indexing database that searches across 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers. Subjects covered include health and life sciences, chemistry, physics and mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management
How to open a full text online journal article via PSY Databases
Having done a search via any of the above databases, the most essential step is to get hold of the article.
Within each record if there is a button,
click on and a new window will display:

When the full text is available, the page will provide links directly to the full text.
In this example, full text is available via Synergy Blackwell Current.
Click on the icon to connect to the full text of an article. If you are from off campus, you will be directed through the proxy and you will be asked to enter your Murdoch Username and Password.
If the full text of an article is not available electronically, you will still be given the option to check
the Murdoch University Library catalogue to see if we hold the article or book in print, click on
next to Murdoch University Library Catalogue
Library Portal
Murdoch students can also use the Library Portal to search across multiple databases and catalogues simultaneously.
You can search up to 10 databases simultaneously. When you get a result page, each of the results have got a
icon.
By clicking on this icon, you would get all the information regarding how you can
directly open up an electronic journal artilce or search the Murdoch catalogue to find if it is available in print format.
Postgraduates
The Library has arranged a generic page for all postgraduates which contains most of the topics as a postgraduate needs to know.
Being a postgraduate, I would assume you are familiar with the headings listed for undergraduates , however if you are not sure,
you may like to go back and check those headings before you proceed.
Search other Universities' Catalogue and Libraries Australia
Very often, you would be given a book or jounral title which is not held at Murdoch. You can check Western Australian Libraries individually or you can use
Libraries Australia which shows holdings within all Australian tertiary institutions. To obtain any items which are held in other tertiary institutions, you need to register with document delivery . Once you have been given your login and password, you can then
submit your request via this system which is known as LIDDAS. All information relating to LIDDAS is listed here. Please see the psychology
librarian if you need assistance.
A number of book titles can now be accessed via the Ebooks page.
Locate psychology journal articles via PSY or other Databases
For postgraduates, your area of interest may not focus only on psychology, as such you may like to check the
Browse by Subject Area in the middle of the library databases page.
Click on the down arrow to see the range of subject areas. If you have not done a database search, you may like to go back to the undergraduates database section.
NB Please check Off Campus Access for information about how to access the Library's electronic resources remotely.
The following list only provides examples of databases which you may be interested in.
MEDLINE (Ovid) (Abstract)
It is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLMŪ) premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index MedicusŪ, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
ScienceDirect
is a multidisciplinary collection of electronic journals. Access to the full text of journals is available for more than 300 subscribed titles.
Wiley Interscience
is a fulltext electronic journal service with broad subject coverage; there are over 40 titles listed under psychology
Blackwell Synergy
is a fulltext journal database with over 70 fulltext psychology titles.
Mental Measurement Yearbooks
is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The electronic subscription starts from Volume 9.
Citation Databases
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to all three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index - from 1987 onwards.
For access, this database has divided into On campus access and
Off campus access
Email alerting Services
A number of databases allow you to save your searches in your area of interest, and set up an email 'alert' for new articles that are being published. This allows you to keep up to date with the latest research in your field without having to regularly repeat your search. For a list of the databases with this service available, and instructions on how to create your alert see the Alerting Services page.
Finding Theses (Print or Digital)
During the course of your research in Psychology you will need
to locate relevant theses. Information about finding
Murdoch University theses via Murdoch Catalogue or Australasian Digital Theses Program for all other Australian and New Zealand universitites. Note that the ADT project starts from Year 2003.
Other psychology reference items
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-IV-TR
Call number: R 616.89075 DIA 2000
Location: Reserve in Murdoch, Rockingham and Peel campuses
Electronic DSM-IV-TR plus [Electronic resource]
Location: Workstation Q at elibrary 1
Psychology Tests held at Psychology Test Library at the School of Psychology.
Contacts (Ref. desk, Ask a librarian, Chat and Psychology Librarian)
If you require library assistance, enquire at the Reference Desk located on Link Level 3 in the South Street library. The contact number is 9360 6838. Students living in South West can choose to use services at Rockingham or Peel Campus Library.
You can also use the "Ask a Librarian" or "Online Librarian" chat services.
You are always welcome to email Rosita Chan the Reference Librarian for Psychology.
|