| Catalogue | Journal Articles & Databases | Ask a Librarian | ||
| Library |
|
Environmental Impact Assessment ResourcesThis is a guide to Environmental Science resources with particular emphasis on Environmental Impact Assessment. Both electronic resources and print resources are included.
IntroductionThe materials listed here are available either in the Murdoch University Library or via the Web. If you are remote from the campus you may not be able to access some of the Library resources personally, but you can use this guide as a checklist against resources in other libraries accessible to you. Because of the wide-ranging nature of environmental science, you will find that material is not located neatly in one specific part of the Library's collection. For this reason the location of material is indicated wherever possible. The items listed focus on resources specific to environmental science. For legal aspects of EIA you should refer to Environmental Law resources.If you have access to the Library and have general queries about using the Library, you can in the first instance ask at the Inquiry Desk, near the entry to the Library on North Wing Level 3. If your queries are subject-related, please go to the Reference Desk in North Wing Level 3. If you are unable to access the Library contact the Environmental Science Subject Librarian by email with any specific environmental science-related queries.
Library CataloguesUse the catalogues to check the availability of books or journals that you need. The Murdoch Library Web Catalogue is available from the Library Home Page. Help with searching the catalogue is available from a link on the left hand side of the catalogue search pages.Access to other library catalogues is also available from the Home Page. Reference SourcesThe following reference materials include both printed and electronic encyclopaedias, dictionaries and other materials useful for background information in environmental impact assessment.To find additional reference material choose Words search in the Library Catalogue, then type the particular aspect of EIA you are interested in, together with the term dictionaries or, alternatively, encyclopedias. Remember though, that you can also find similar resources for specific topics, so for example if you are looking at EIA in relation to the mining industry then you will also need to refer to appropriate reference works related to the mining industry. The Reference Sources have been divided into the following four categories. Dictionaries Encyclopaedias Handbooks General Reference SourcesDictionariesAn Australian dictionary of environment and planning, 1990, OUP, MelbourneSouth Wing Level 4 333.70994 GIL 1990
Butterworths environmental management and law dictionary,1997,
Butterworths, Sydney
Dictionary of environment and sustainable development,1996, John Wiley, New York
Dictionary of environmental science and engineering, 1996, Gordon
& Breach, Amsterdam
Dictionary of global climate change, 1994, 2nd
edn, UCL Press, London
The dictionary of substances and their effects (DOSE), 1999, Royal Society of Chemistry, Cambridge
Environmental forensics : a glossary of terms, 2000, CRC Press, Boca Raton,
The environment dictionary, 1998, Routledge, London
The Macmillan dictionary of the Australian environment, 1991,
Macmillan, South Melbourne EncyclopaediasBlackwell's concise encyclopedia of environmental management, 1999, Blackwell Science, Malden, MALink Level 3 R 363.7003 BLA 1999
The encyclopedia of ecology & environmental management, 1998, Blackwell Science,
Malden, MA
Encyclopedia of environmental biology, 1995, Academic Press,
San Diego
Encyclopedia of environmental science, 1999, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Dordrecht, Netherlands
Encyclopedia of environmental science and engineering, 1998, Gordon and Breach Science Publishers, Philadelphia
Human environments : a cross-cultural encyclopedia, 1995,
ABC-CLIO, Santa Barbara HandbooksAustralians and the environment, 1996, Australian Bureau of Statistics, CanberraSouth Wing Level 4 333.730994 AUS 1996
Debating the earth : the environmental politics reader, 2005, Oxford University
Press, New York
Effective environmental management : principles and case studies, 2001, Allen & Unwin, Crows Nest, N.S.W.
Environmental audit guide book, 1993-, Centre for Professional
Development, Aust., South Melb.
Guidelines and criteria for determining the need for and level of environmental impact assessment in Australia, 1996, ANZECC, Canberra
Guide to environmental analytical methods, Genium Pub. Corp, Schenectady, NY
Handbook of environmental degradation rates, 1991, Lewis
Publishers, Chelsea, Mich
Handbook of environmental impact assessment, 1999, Blackwell Science, Oxford
Handbook of ecotoxicology, 1993, Blackwell Scientific, London
International environmental standards handbook, 1999, Lewis Publishers, Boca Raton
The international yearbook of environmental and resource economics : a survey of current issues, 1997, Edward Elgar, Cheltenham, U.K.
ISO 14001 auditing manual, 2000, McGraw-Hill, New York Year book Australia, 1978-,
Australian Bureau of Statistics, Canberra General Reference SourcesElectronic ReferenceThis list of sites prepared by Murdoch Librarians includes general dictionaries, biographies, directories and guides.
The Sociology of the environment, 1995, Aldershot, Hants, UK ; Brookfield,
Vt., US: E. Elgar Pub
Subject Guides to Library Resources
JournalsJournals contain large numbers of articles on the latest research in specific disciplines. Many journals are now available electronically in full text and it is becoming increasingly common for the paper copies to be replaced by their electronic equivalent, though in some cases both paper and electronic versions are held.
Accessing electronic journalsThe number of journals we have electronically is constantly increasing, so the entries in the catalogue are also changing to reflect this. Usually only more recent volumes of a journal are available electronically, and software such as Adobe Acrobat is needed to view the graphics associated with them. The workstations in the Library have this software, but you will need to load it on to your own PC to view electronic journals. Off campus access to electronic journals and databases is available to Murdoch staff and students. Your Murdoch Username and Password are used for authentification. In some instances a login and password will also be required for access. Please enquire at the Reference Desk on North Wing Level 3 of the Library for this information.
Latest print journalsPrint copies of the latest issues of journals received in the Library are kept in the Journal Display areas. Science and Social Sciences journals are displayed in Link Level 3. Law journals are displayed in South Wing Level 3 Because of the interdisciplinary nature of EIA, you will find relevant material at each of these locations.
Finding relevant journalsIf you know the title of a journal, search the Web Title Catalogue and if the journal is available electronically, you'll be able to connect automatically to the full text of articles. If you don't have a specific journal to search you can find relevant journals by:
Some relevant journalsAdvances in ecological researchAdvances in environmental science and technology Annual review of ecology and systematics Australian journal of environmental management Bulletin of environmental contamination and toxicology Business strategy and the environment : BSE Critical reviews in environmental science and technology Ecotoxicology and environmental safety Environment and planning. D, Society & space Environmental and planning law journal Environmental impact assessment review Environmental monitoring and assessment Journal of environmental management Journal of environmental planning and management Journal of environmental policy and planning The journal of environment & development Land degradation & development Reviews of environmental contamination and toxicology
Journal DatabasesDatabases are used to find journal articles on particular topics. To search them successfully you need to have an understanding of how the search process works using a search strategy. You can access the databases from the Databases page, where you can choose a specific database from the Browse by Database Title alphabetic list at the top of the screen, Browse by Subject Area to find journals in a specific discipline, or use the Quick Links to Major Databases list for the more popular databases.All of the databases are accessible from the eLibraries on North Wing Level 3, South Wing Level 3 and the workstations around the Library, except for those marked catalogue only. You are also able to get remote access by using your Murdoch Username and Password for authentication. For further information on how to do this see the Off Campus Access Web Page. Some databases require a password for access, which you can get from the Reference Desk on North Wing Level 3.
Fulltext databasesSome databases provide the full text of many articles that they index. Those that are particularly relevant for research into environmental impact assessment include:
Academic Research Library
Applied Science and Technology Index Plus (Proquest)
Expanded Academic Index (EAI)
Proquest Science Journals
Proquest Medical Library
Science Direct Wiley Interscience
Other databasesThere are a number of other databases which provide bibliographic information about journal articles, such as the article title, author, and journal details, but not the full text of the article. You will need to check the Library catalogue to see if the Library has a particular journal that has been indexed in these databases. Databases especially useful for information on environmental impact assessment and related topics include:
Agricola, 1970-
AHB - Australian Heritage
Bibliography, 1987-
APAFT / APAIS - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text / Australian Public Affairs Information Service
ASFA - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts,1978-
Biological Abstracts
Biological Absracts/RRM
CAB Abstracts, 1990-
Chemical Abstracts
Print from 1967-1998 In Store
Current advances in ecological and environmental sciences, 1989-2000
Current Contents Connect 1999-
Ecology abstracts, 1980-1999
EIS - Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, 1988-
ELIXIR1990-
ENDANGER - Threatened species in Australia, 1960-
Environmental health and pollution control, 1971-2000
Environment Abstracts, 1975-
EVA, 1987-
Pollution Abstracts
REEF - Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database, 1982-
Science Citation Index, 1982-
Scifinder Scholar - see Chemical Abstracts
Streamline - Australia's Natural Resources Database, 1982- Web of Science - see Science Citation Index Environmental Impact StatementsThe Library has sought to maintain as complete a collection as possible of Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) produced within Western Australia. In addition, all significant EISs from other Australian states have been collected wherever possible, together with some EISs from South East Asia.The collection also includes other equivalent documents such as Environmental Review and Management Programme (ERMP), Consultative Environmental Review (CER), Public Environmental Review (PER) documents and so on. To access any of these, search the Title Catalogue for environmental impact statements. Alternatively you can choose Words in the catalogue and combine specific terms from the EIS you are looking for with the term environmental impact statements. For Western Australian EISs, the corresponding report and recommendation of the Environmental Protection Authority for each EIS is published in the series Bulletin (Western Australia. Environmental Protection Authority) and is available at South Wing Level 4 G 333.709941 W527 1. You will need to check the catalogue to find the volume number of the specific bulletin that you need.
Internet SitesBelow are a few Internet sites relevant to Environmental Impact Assessment. This is not an exhaustive list and you will find many more elsewhere on the Murdoch Online pages for Environmental Impact Assessment.
ANL Environmental Assessment Division
Australian EIA Network
Australia's EnviroNET
Electronic Green Journal
Environmental Auditing
Environmental Conflict Resolution
Environmental Decision-making
Environmental Impact Assessment
Environmental science
The European Commission Environment site
International Association for Impact Assessment
National Library for the Environment
The remote sensing tutorial
Resources for the future
SCOPE
US Department of Energy's NEPA (National Environmental Policy Act) Website
US Geological Survey Environment
Section
Citing ReferencesIt is essential that any references used in your research projects are cited correctly. A comprehensive bibliography is an indication of how widely you have read for the topic and also allows any relevant papers to be found at a later date. The most important aspect of citing is to be consistent, and generally in the sciences the Chicago system is preferred.Copies of the Library's publication, How to cite references, which discusses various citation systems, are available online. Also available is the Murdoch University Library Legal Citation Guide, which may be useful. Please remember that there are specific citation rules for electronic resources and the guides give examples of these materials. However, you only need to follow the special rules for citing electronic publications if the full text document is sourced in electronic format. If an electronic database is used to find a citation (such as one of the databases which do not provide full text) and you subsequently locate the article in a paper journal, the citation is for paper format, not electronic. It is the end product you are citing, not your means of finding it. |
| Murdoch University | Copyright & Disclaimer | Feedback | CRICOS Code: 00125J | Page Information |