ABIF-Fauna
ABIF-Fauna is a web based source of taxonomic and biological information being compiled for all animal species known to occur in Australia.
Animal Diversity Web
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
Virtual Frog Dissection Kit This award-winning interactive program is part of the "Whole Frog" project. You can interactively dissect a (digitized) frog named Fluffy, make movies, and play the Virtual Frog Builder Game. The interactive Web pages are available in a number of languages.
The Biology Browser
BiologyBrowser, produced by BIOSIS, is a free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community.
The Biology Project
An online interactive resource for learning biology from the University of Arizona.
BIOME
BIOME offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering the health and life sciences. You can search the whole site or use one of five subject-specific gateways.
BioMed Central This site provides free access to journal literature in biology and medicine.
UCMP glossary A glossary of terms in biology and paleontology produced by the University of California, Berkeley, Museum of Paleontology.
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on taxa that have been evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria, to determine the relative risk of extinction of threatened species.
Species 2000 Species 2000 aims to list all known species of plants, animals, fungi and microbes to further studies of global diversity. It was established by the International Union of Biological Sciences, the Committee on Data for Science and Technology and the International Union of Microbiological Associations.
The Tree of Life - a distributed Internet project containing information about phylogeny and biodiversity - it is being continually developed.
Census of Marine Life
The Census of Marine Life is a growing global network of researchers in more than 45 nations engaged in a ten-year initiative to assess and explain the diversity, distribution, and abundance of marine life in the oceans -- past, present, and future.
All the Virology on the WWW
This site, from the Garry Laboratory at Tulane University Medical School, offers a very comprehensive list of websites for virology information including virus pictures and a collection of online courses and current news.
Microbes.info
A microbiology information portal containing a vast collection of resources.
Microbiology Web Textbook
This microbiology textbook has been selected as a quality web site for current web contents by ISI. This is a prestigious award.
Virus Databases On-line
This site at the ANU includes the Universal Virus Database developed for the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses.
Enzyme Nomenclature
The IUBMB (International Union of Biology and Molecular Biology) has provided a web version of all enzymes listed in Enzyme Nomenclature, 1992. All entries are listed with additional data such as full titles of references and the website incorporates the six published supplements plus the subsequently approved additions, corrections and deletions. All of this data can be searched.
ABIF-Flora
ABIF-Flora currently delivers information from the Flora of Australia, Australian Marine Algal Name Index and Checklist of Australian Lichens. It also links to ABRS collaborative projects such as the Census of Freshwater Algae in Australia and Interactive Catalogue of Australian Fungi.
AVH: Australia's Virtual Herbarium
Australia's Virtual Herbarium (AVH) provides immediate access to data associated with scientific plant specimens in each Australian herbarium. Six million specimen records, of particular value in displaying geographic distribution, will be enhanced by images, descriptive text and identification tools.
Index Nominum Genericorum
The Index Nominum Genericorum (ING), a collaborative project of the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT) and the Smithsonian Institution, was initiated in 1954 as a compilation of generic names published for all organisms covered by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature.
Parasitic Plant Connection
Many parasitic plant links including family pages providing distribution maps and links to
descriptions, lists of genera, photographs, bibliographic references and DNA sequence information.